Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I wanted to love this recipe, but in the end it tastes like all the other beef stew recipes. It's good, just not amazing. It is a good excuse however to keep Guinness in the fridge. And in my glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It was a little "dark" for my personal taste. But the guiness lovers devoured a double batch of this stew. I added extra veggies and potatoes I had. Near the end I did need a little broth to keep from getting dry. I might have had the stove on a little high. Will make for many st patricks day celebrations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Whole family thought this was fantastic! We ate quartered red potatoes for a side. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Maybe it was the brand of stout I used (Holy Moly) but I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this recipe today for a seniors luncheon. It tasted wonderful and I got raves from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had a leftover cornbeef brisket that I used instead of the stew meat and since I didn't have tomato paste I added about a tablespoon of ketchup. The cornbeef added an amazing flavor! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a good recipe and the gravy is very rich and flavorful. I simmered the stew the last 45 minutes with the lid off to reduce the gravy and intensify the flavor. Adding cubed potato and turnip might add a little something extra to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Keeper! I followed the recipe as written except I used dried thyme. My two picky eaters gobbled it up! This will go in my menu rotation and I will adapt to pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
this is like a recipe I used to make: Beer Beef, a recipe from an Irish cook book, but this had a few more flavor adding ingredients, including garlic and carrots. I did as the old recipe suggested and cooked it at 275 for 4 hours, which allows the meat to fall apart when forked. A nice touch the old recipe had was a large slice of bread spread both sides with mustard and place on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
If you love the taste of beef, you will love this. It is one of my favorite recipes. I add potatoes sometimes. Don't wait for St. Patrick's Day to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States