Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Brought this to my monthly cooking club & it was a hit. Followed the recipe, but due to time limitations I prepared in the skillet the night before, then put it in the slow cooker on low and let it cook all day the next day. I used a full can of guiness beer & also added 1 cup of beef broth to the slow cooker to keep it moist, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The flavor of the stout is very strong, making for an unusual taste for beef stew. The meat was wonderfully tender, and it makes a nice gravy. Bottom line is that although it was good, I prefer regular beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Okay as a base start, but it needs a lot of help otherwise (even AFTER I incorporated a lot of "most helpful reviews" tips). Don't let the picture fool you -- it looks better than it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for the cook along dish at the forum I belong to and I made a few adjustments to the recipe based a little on the review by one of the members. However, I also tried to stick to the recipe as much as possible. I added some new red potatoes, halved or quartered, and didn't chop the carrots but rather bought the slivered kind. I used 3 cloves of crushed garlic, also 3 bay leaves and aside from the Guinness I used an entire can of beef broth, due to the amount of vegetables. A little extra tomato paste than what it was called for and extra Worcestershire sauce. I made it in the Dutch Oven and it smelled wonderful. Here is the huge surprise... my kids loved it! My daughter had a friend over whose mom is Irish and he said that it was better than the one his mother makes. I made this on St. Patrick's Day and I WOULD and am making it again as I'm typing this. Like I said it was a hit. I kind of played with the seasonings a bit and since I didn't have fresh Thyme I used powdered and leaves. I know now that I don't care for Guinness. But liked the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
What an awesome recipe!! I served this stew over Champ. My family raved about the meal. I added 24 oz. of Guinness instead of the 1 1/2 cups. I wanted to be sure there was enough gravy. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used 1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme. I also added about 2 tsps. of sugar, and some Mrs. Dash and celery salt to taste. I thought this recipe was easy to prepare, and so delicious! A definite recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good and easy to make, I did cut back on the Guinness to a total of 3/4 cup which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a fabulous stew. I used more flour than called for, but I also used more meat. I blended the flour mixture into a large plastic bag so I could toss and coat the beef cubes easier. I was a bit concerned that the onion should be chopped fine, but that was not necessary at all. I did not have tomato paste, so I simply added ketchup -no water added of course. I did not chop the carrots, either. I like to simply add the baby peeled carrots as they are. I also added fresh green beans after a couple of hours because I like them in any stew. The other thing I added which was from another recipe on this site, was some whiskey in addition to a full bottle of Guinness. Some commented that the stew lacked flavor. The written recipe clearly states to adjust spices to your liking. I felt that it needed more spice, so I simply added more of the listed spices until it met my liking. I also added dried parsley instead of garnishing with fresh. I started my stew early and I noticed that the longer it cooked, the better it got. At 3 hours it was good. At 4-5 hours it was incredible! Thanks for the recipe. The changes that I made were only to cut back on prep time and accomodate what I had on hand. I can't say for sure whether or not the whiskey changed this stew much, but I will definitely be adding it again just in case. I served this over mashed potatoes...YUMMY..............We all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this on St. Patty's day instead of the normal corn beef and cabbage and it was a great hit! I added more beer than called for and it seemed to help keep the flavor around. And while I love to play with things and change them, there isn't very much I would change with this reciepe...except serve with mashed potatoes and Car Bombs and you have the makings of a great night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Excellent stew, I cheated a little and used frozen stew vegetables. I browned the meat and finished the stew in my crockpot. My family loved this, this will be the only stew recipe I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I added more than a pinch of cayenne pepper and some smoked paprika to the flour mixture. Also, after adding the first 1/2 cup of beer and bringing it to a boil I then transferred it to a crock pot and cooked on low for 3 hours. Everyone loved it! I made the amazingly easy Irish Soda bread recipe from this site to dip in the stew. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States