Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
One word....Yummy!!!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tarentum, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Great recipe. It definitely has a taste of Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This stew was the best! I only added half the beer it called for and added beef broth for the rest of the liquid. I filled the soup bowls with mashed potatoes and poured the stew on top. This will be the only way I make Stew from now on! Thank you so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Great !! Very popular at the pot luck. We used 2 bottles of Guiness stout and a little extra cayenne, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out great! I made it for ST. Patrick's Day, served it over mashed potatoes and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was an easy satisfying meal. I did 3/4 Guiness and 1/4 beef stock but I think next time I'll use all Guiness. The beer taste wasn't nearly as strong as I expected it to be. I liked the simplicity of it and will definitely make this again. I served it over mashed potatoes and found that to be a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this stew for 93 people for St. Patrick's Day at our local Legion. Purchased the ingredients, gave the recipe to 5 women and we all made the same stew. It was awesome, we even got a round of applause after dinner! I will definately make this recipe again and again! Thanks so much for posting it. I just love having the feature that All Recipes provides to change the quantities up or down with a click of the mouse, sure made shopping for such a large crowd easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
My new St. Pat's recipe! OH SO GOOD and really easy. I cooked it on the stove until time to add the beer, then moved it to the slow cooker on low for several hours. Used half parsnips/half carrots and served it over mashed potatoes--this has to be the only way! Company raved! Make the easy Irish soda bread from this site to go along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great Recipe! I converted it to work for a crock-pot and added sliced potatos...It was a huge hit on St. Patrick's Day. Not a drop left and I had doubled the recipe! I was printing out the recipe for half the day to give to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I started this stovetop in the morning and then transfered it to a crockpot so it would be warm for dinner. I added about 1/2 lb of lamb and a little extra garlic. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. The gravy was a rich brown and glossy-telltale sign of a good gravy! My guests (no strangers to good food) LOVED it as well as my 4 yr old. Will make it more often than on St. Patty's Day! We had it with Amazingly Easy Soda Bread (good if you like cakey bread) and Bread Pudding & Whiskey Sauce for dessert. Fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States