Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made the recipe pretty much to the letter, though I did add some beef stock as I was worried the stout flavour might over power everything. I didn't have any fresh thyme so I added a combination or dried oregano, dried parsley and a touch of cinnamon. My partner thought it was the best stew he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This will be my staple meal for St. Patrick's. I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out perfect! The Guinness really added to the flavor. Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this over the weekend for an Irish themed party and it was a hit! (Already sent the recipe to a guest.) However, I'm giving it 4 stars because like many of the other reviewers, it didn't have as much flavor as I expected. I only made a few modifications: for a doubled batch, I added one bay leaf, 1 cup of beef broth (for the slow cooker), and 6 oz. of tomato paste; I also used extra stout Guinness. Also, since it was 92 degrees out when I made it, after deglazing the pan, I put it in the slower cooker for 8 1/2 hours on low - great tip from the other reviews, thanks! Other than those changes, I followed the recipe. It was very good and the gravy was thick enough that we ate it alone -without potatoes. Overall, really good recipe! The beer flavor is extremely intense the first night but mellows by day two (when I served it). This is a very nice alternative to traditional beef stew. The beer flavor can be a bit much for some people, but it's "...Irish Stout Stew," that flavor should be expected! In the end, this is a great recipe as is but it's also super easy to modify to your individual tastes. I'm definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
It's so nice to find a stew recipe that doesn't have potatoes in it. This is good served by itself with bacon-green beans on the side and a simple lettuce and tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Oh yummy... I added a little more beer, but left enough for a sip for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Love this! I make it regularly, and the only thing I add is carrots & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brick wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
very popular w/the men folk. i thought it was a bit beer-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kijest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
It was nice until I served it on mashed potatoes, as suggested. Then it completely mixed with the mashed potato to make it a flavorless soupy potato mess. The potatoes dulled out the flavor of the stew, and the stew overly watered the mashed potatoes. Unfortunately, even before the potatoes, it wasn't amazing enough for me to want to make again. Not awful, just not particularly noteworthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The first time I made this was for St. Patrick's Day a year ago. We loved it! I have made it countless times since then. The reason I gave it 4 starts is... The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and it just seemed to be missing something. (although still very good) I have played around with the recipe a bit, and tailored it to our tastes. In addition to the original recipe I add... 3 to 4 Bay Leaves and about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire Sauce. Guinness Extra Stout is the beer of choice for us, 1 bottle, and I will add a little extra tomato paste if it needs to be thickened up. All in all, this is a top notch stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States