Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this last week for St. Patrick's Day, and it was quite tasty! I didn't use the recipe (forgot to print it and my laptop had died) so I went from memory, using 2 14(ish) ounce cans of Guinness (which I happen to love) minus a few sips for myself LOL. I also added potatoes to the stew instead of mashing them, because I was being lazy. Because of all the potatoes, carrots and onions (along with the beef) it got very thick quickly, so I added a can of beef broth and misc seasonings (from a jar of mixed spices) and the taste was great...and my house smelled delicious! I served it with homemade biscuits and my one problem was that it had a bit of a 'bite' in the back of your throat, much like drinking an actual guinness. I don't know if this was because I didn't cook it long enough, added too much beer or what have you. I've also heard that the cans with the cartridges in them will do that, but that's the only way I could find Guinness. I'll make it again and play, because the flavor without that bite was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateRBels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was good overall- just a little bland. I added some sugar (about a tablespoon or two) as another reviewer suggested. I also added quite a bit of Maggi seasoning sauce. THAT made it really yum. If you can't find Maggi at the grocery, you can get it on amazon. It's great for savory meat dishes like this! I used a whole can of tomato paste. Also, I served it over egg noodles- which was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Everyone at the party loved it. I doubled the meat and spices, increased tomato paste to whole 6oz can, added 1 Tb Worcestershire sauce, 2 bay leaves, 1 can beef broth, 2 TB of brown sugar and used whole can of stout beer. I also made it the day before. I had to share the recipe others since they enjoyed it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It was so bitter, not even edible. Used the guiness beer extra stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
We just ate this for St. Patrick's Day. It was fine but nothing special. If you are just looking for a stew our family prefers the spicy curry beef stew from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I tried this out tonight for St. Patrick's Day and I'm very happy that I did! A little while back I tried a similar recipe on this site called "Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon" from MNIKOLAISEN. My stew didn't come out very good that time, but I also made a few errors. This stew though was perfect in every single way! Comparing the recipes, I think dredging the meat in flour before browning is the way to go. This made my beer broth thicken up enough that I didn't have to worry about it evaporating (which happened with the other recipe). I used a good dark malt beer which was delicious. I noticed a lot of negative reviews focused on this being too bland. Yes, it will be bland if you don't do anything to it! It says right in step 3 to taste and adjust seasoning before serving. Everyone likes their stew different ways, therefore I do not count this as something negative. I added two large cloves of garlic, a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, one bay leaf, one vegetable bouillon cube, salt and pepper. Mmmmm! Yum! Use your common sense when seasoning and this stew will be heavenly. I also really liked the addition of the tomato paste which the other recipe omitted. I think it gave the sauce a wonderful rich color. Overall, I was quite pleased with the outcome. I simmered my stew for about 1 hour and 20 minutes and it thickened beautifully and the meat was very tender. I served it over Colcannon and I had a great St. Patrick's Day dinner! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I also loved this stew. Great for St. Patty's day! I did have to add more salt than what is asked for. The whole family loved it. I will diffidently make this a tradition for the green holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This came out very bitter. Next time I would only use a small amount of the guiness beer and use beef broth for the rest of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added boiled potatoes to the stew in the end. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Love this stew! Served it over mashed potatoes like some others suggested. I put a little horseradish in the potatoes and it was fabulous! Will definitely make again and again :) Thank you want2hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotus Bloosom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States