Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
If you're looking for an alternative to boring stew, then this is definitely the one for you. I used Killians instead of guiness, but mainly because I didn't want 5 left over guiness bottles that no one would drink. Turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
WOW!! I have rated and reviewed about 50 recipes on this site and this was the very first recipe that I have had an extremely negative review. I didn't care for this recipe. Couldn't doctor it up in any way to make it better. This recipe was just a complete waste of my money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Did this stew for St. Patrick's day, my husband loved it! It was quite easy to do, just have to keep on stirring to avoid getting sticky on the bottom of the pan. Great success for 1st attempt. I didn't find Guiness, so used a German dark ale instead. Very good with my rosemary mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
threw everything in the crockpot. very good..smelled kinda funny and needs more salt for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This got rave reviews from my friends. I work in a bar, so I was lucky enough to have Guinness right from the keg. I served it with champ as others suggested & with a toasted baguette (no time for irish soda bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie 215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Yum yum yum!!! I made this today and it turned out fantastic! The only thing I did was throw in a handful of peas, and about 1 cup of leftover green beans from the night before! It was a perfect winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really good, hearty. I have a sense that the addition of the tomato paste might not be critical, so, I'm going to try it without it just like a regular stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was very good and I will make it again but next time I will cut down on the beer to about 1/2 and use beef stock for the remaining liquid. I thought the Guinness was a little strong. Also will add some Worhestershire. Now my boyfriend loves Guinness so he adored the dish, over mashed potatos was a winner with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Great with Murphy's stout- a little more mild and sweet. Waaaaaay better when you don't skip the step with the meat in the flour. Tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was great. Loved all of the leftovers we had because it seemed to get better and better! This does need some modifications, but it is very easy to suit to your tastes! I used a whole can of guiness as the recipe calls for. I found the bitterness went away the longer it simmered (about 3 1/2 hours for me). I added a T of sugar, a can of beef broth because I like my stews soupy, a bay leaf, and a shot of worsteshire. For the last hour, I added diced red potatoes. Loved the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States