Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good, I did however add a few Quartered red potatoes and about a cup of chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really, really good. After deglazing the pan, I transferred it to a crockpot & added basil. Cooked on low for around 6 hours. Served over mashed potatoes. We loved it as is, the flavor was wonderful. Didn't find it bitter like other reviewers did. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Just excellent at St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because is a great concept. Now, I didn't realize I HATED Guiness beer as much as I do! LOL..as other reviewers had done, I tried to take out the bitterness of it by adding brown sugar..then I added worcheshire..some beef broth..more tomato paste, cooked it longer. This helped some, but this stew is not to MY likiing. If you like Guiness beer, make this dish! If not, don't waste your money. I may try again one day using a different beer. But again, I am not giving it a bad review, this is just MY personal preference. And don't forget, some say it was too bland, this is where step 3 comes in, taste and adjust seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My husband was obsessed with Guinness beef stew in Dublin, so I was excited to try out this recipe when we got home. It came close to the "real thing," but seemed to be lacking something...I'm just not sure what?! I recommend letting the stew cook without a lid for the last hour before you serve it so it has a chance to thicken up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made this for dinner last night and it was great! I had some minor changes (didn't brown the meat, so I didn't use the oil or flour), used 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper, and a heavy dash of cayenne. Also used about 3 TB tomato paste, 1 cup Guinness, and 1 cup beef stock, and dried thyme. I wasn't sure about the smell while cooking in the crockpot (it wasn't bad, but wasn't good either), but I served it on mashed potatoes with Irish soda bread (also from this site), and it was a HUGE hit! Because I used more liquid, I had a lot of gravy which I thickened with cornstarch. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Pretty good recipe! I used Guinness Draft b/c it's what I had on hand and added a little bit of brown sugar and chopped up prunes (something I read in a different Guinness Stew recipe) and the soup was not bitter at all. It was slightly sweet, but I did also use "sweet" onions. I really liked it. I also added a bag of peas and about 16 oz. of beef brother because I like my stew to be more like soup. I will definitely be making this again! Goes really well with a quick beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent way to use up that Guinness in the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Man!!! This was EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-style

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This stew is superb!! Wonderful flavor when made with Guiness Stout, I did add 2 tbsp brown sugar as others suggested to offset the bitter taste of the beer, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States