Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Just what you expect: hearty and flavorful. Since I made this for the fam, I added a half cup of honey to cut the bitter/tang of the Guinness a little and it worked great. With sourdough toast, it was a perfect fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Loved it! I used the Recipe as a base. I added 1 can of corn, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, a heaped teaspoon of Beef "better than bullion', 8oz of sliced mushrooms, and a shot of Worcestershire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Berry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made with a 14.9 oz can of Guinness, with beer to drink alongside. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! We made it for an Irish-themed party and it was gobbled up. The taste is rich from the beer and it's more like a soup if you let it simmer with the lid on the entire time (we took the lid off for the last 30 minutes which helped thicken it a little). I would also recommend making it the night before for an even richer flavor. If you like spicy you can put a few drops of Tabasco in your bowl (don't put it in the stew; the longer you have it the spicier it will get so Tabasco to taste when it's fresh means inedibly hot in a day or two). Definitely needs more salt that the pinch the recipe calls for so I'd say use salt to taste instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is an AMAZING recipe and PERFECT for St. Patricks Day as its an extremely hearty stew (to compete with all that green beer you should be drinking!). I recommend doubling the amount of stout you put into this, though, as it gives it such wonderful flavor and an almost creamy texture to the sauce. I used Guiness Extra Dark Stout and it was GREAT! Also, consider serving this with Colcannon (what I served it with) and your meal will be OUT OF THIS WORLD. Be prepared to have people asking you for the recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I'm sure this is a great recipe, but I just had issues with it. I know I don't like Guinness, but I thought it would work enough so that I would like this stew. If I had some on hand, I would have added a can of beef broth and that might have helped. Also, since I was watching my month-old daughter, I accidentally burned the stew 2 different times, so that might have affected the flavor itself even though I got all the burned bits out. I may try this again, but not sure as my husband doesn't like stew. Also, I added about a pound of red potatoes 'cause I love potatoes in my stew. I only wish this had turned out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did not care for this. I'm not sure what I would add as a base besides Guinness but far too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We liked this, didn't love it. Too strong beer flavor, but the recipie has tons of potential. So tweak and try to get it just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Loved it and my guests loved it! I made it like the recipe except I got worried that I wouldn't have enough, so I added a beef boullion cube and some water and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. I will make this again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was excellent! Really easy to make. I had a hard time finding Guiness Beer, so had to go with another brand of "stout" but it was still excellent! Not one to normally follow recipies to the tee, but I did this time and was not disappointed. Lots of flavor. The mashed potatoes were a unique touch and my family gobbled it all up... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States