Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I'm sure this is a great recipe, but I just had issues with it. I know I don't like Guinness, but I thought it would work enough so that I would like this stew. If I had some on hand, I would have added a can of beef broth and that might have helped. Also, since I was watching my month-old daughter, I accidentally burned the stew 2 different times, so that might have affected the flavor itself even though I got all the burned bits out. I may try this again, but not sure as my husband doesn't like stew. Also, I added about a pound of red potatoes 'cause I love potatoes in my stew. I only wish this had turned out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did not care for this. I'm not sure what I would add as a base besides Guinness but far too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We liked this, didn't love it. Too strong beer flavor, but the recipie has tons of potential. So tweak and try to get it just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Loved it and my guests loved it! I made it like the recipe except I got worried that I wouldn't have enough, so I added a beef boullion cube and some water and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. I will make this again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was excellent! Really easy to make. I had a hard time finding Guiness Beer, so had to go with another brand of "stout" but it was still excellent! Not one to normally follow recipies to the tee, but I did this time and was not disappointed. Lots of flavor. The mashed potatoes were a unique touch and my family gobbled it all up... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Easy an yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Followed the recipe but the flavor was bland, so like others, I added some brown sugar and worcestershire sauce. I also added some beef stock as the mixture was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is an excellent recipe!! I've made it a couple of times and my family LOVES it. In stead of simmering it on the stove for a couple of hours I dump it into the crockpot and set it to low. Then I don't have to do anything until we're ready to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was really, really good. Of course, I did my own thing with the basic concept. I had 1 lb of stew beef, coated it with flour and browned it in bacon grease after cooking 4 slices of bacon to add to stew. Browned the onions as directed. After reading many reviews and other recipes using stout, I reduced the renderings using the stout (full can of Murphy's) beef broth, tomato paste and some apricot jam, because many recipes I read added prunes, but I didn't have any.... (sorry, i did not measure any of these, just eyeballed.) I put the meat, onions, broth mixture, carrots, some chopped celery, white potatoes and sweet potatoes in a crock pot. I did not have fresh time so I added fresh rosemary. I added some garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Let it cook on low all day when I was at work, at least 9 hours. When I got home, I cooked some noodles and added them to the crock pot to soak up the extra broth. wow. very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I just dumped everything into the crock pot and cooked on high for 4 hours. Served over mashed potatoes as others suggested. I added a tsp of hot sauce at the end, which added a tiny kick. Perfect. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States