Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had a leftover cornbeef brisket that I used instead of the stew meat and since I didn't have tomato paste I added about a tablespoon of ketchup. The cornbeef added an amazing flavor! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a good recipe and the gravy is very rich and flavorful. I simmered the stew the last 45 minutes with the lid off to reduce the gravy and intensify the flavor. Adding cubed potato and turnip might add a little something extra to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Keeper! I followed the recipe as written except I used dried thyme. My two picky eaters gobbled it up! This will go in my menu rotation and I will adapt to pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
this is like a recipe I used to make: Beer Beef, a recipe from an Irish cook book, but this had a few more flavor adding ingredients, including garlic and carrots. I did as the old recipe suggested and cooked it at 275 for 4 hours, which allows the meat to fall apart when forked. A nice touch the old recipe had was a large slice of bread spread both sides with mustard and place on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
If you love the taste of beef, you will love this. It is one of my favorite recipes. I add potatoes sometimes. Don't wait for St. Patrick's Day to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Just what you expect: hearty and flavorful. Since I made this for the fam, I added a half cup of honey to cut the bitter/tang of the Guinness a little and it worked great. With sourdough toast, it was a perfect fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Loved it! I used the Recipe as a base. I added 1 can of corn, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, a heaped teaspoon of Beef "better than bullion', 8oz of sliced mushrooms, and a shot of Worcestershire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made with a 14.9 oz can of Guinness, with beer to drink alongside. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! We made it for an Irish-themed party and it was gobbled up. The taste is rich from the beer and it's more like a soup if you let it simmer with the lid on the entire time (we took the lid off for the last 30 minutes which helped thicken it a little). I would also recommend making it the night before for an even richer flavor. If you like spicy you can put a few drops of Tabasco in your bowl (don't put it in the stew; the longer you have it the spicier it will get so Tabasco to taste when it's fresh means inedibly hot in a day or two). Definitely needs more salt that the pinch the recipe calls for so I'd say use salt to taste instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is an AMAZING recipe and PERFECT for St. Patricks Day as its an extremely hearty stew (to compete with all that green beer you should be drinking!). I recommend doubling the amount of stout you put into this, though, as it gives it such wonderful flavor and an almost creamy texture to the sauce. I used Guiness Extra Dark Stout and it was GREAT! Also, consider serving this with Colcannon (what I served it with) and your meal will be OUT OF THIS WORLD. Be prepared to have people asking you for the recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States