Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good and easy to make, I did cut back on the Guinness to a total of 3/4 cup which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a fabulous stew. I used more flour than called for, but I also used more meat. I blended the flour mixture into a large plastic bag so I could toss and coat the beef cubes easier. I was a bit concerned that the onion should be chopped fine, but that was not necessary at all. I did not have tomato paste, so I simply added ketchup -no water added of course. I did not chop the carrots, either. I like to simply add the baby peeled carrots as they are. I also added fresh green beans after a couple of hours because I like them in any stew. The other thing I added which was from another recipe on this site, was some whiskey in addition to a full bottle of Guinness. Some commented that the stew lacked flavor. The written recipe clearly states to adjust spices to your liking. I felt that it needed more spice, so I simply added more of the listed spices until it met my liking. I also added dried parsley instead of garnishing with fresh. I started my stew early and I noticed that the longer it cooked, the better it got. At 3 hours it was good. At 4-5 hours it was incredible! Thanks for the recipe. The changes that I made were only to cut back on prep time and accomodate what I had on hand. I can't say for sure whether or not the whiskey changed this stew much, but I will definitely be adding it again just in case. I served this over mashed potatoes...YUMMY..............We all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this on St. Patty's day instead of the normal corn beef and cabbage and it was a great hit! I added more beer than called for and it seemed to help keep the flavor around. And while I love to play with things and change them, there isn't very much I would change with this reciepe...except serve with mashed potatoes and Car Bombs and you have the makings of a great night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Excellent stew, I cheated a little and used frozen stew vegetables. I browned the meat and finished the stew in my crockpot. My family loved this, this will be the only stew recipe I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I added more than a pinch of cayenne pepper and some smoked paprika to the flour mixture. Also, after adding the first 1/2 cup of beer and bringing it to a boil I then transferred it to a crock pot and cooked on low for 3 hours. Everyone loved it! I made the amazingly easy Irish Soda bread recipe from this site to dip in the stew. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The beef came out sooo good in this recipe. Though I think the guinness made the carrots and base a bit bitter. I would probably add some brown sugar next time I make this... and more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good and surprisingly easy to prep. I used Newcastle beer (1 bottle) and it really came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wonderful recipe!! I added everything but the cayenne pepper (only because I forgot to buy some) and it was absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it at my St. Patrick's Day dinner. The Guinness made the stew thicken up and gave it a very nice, rich flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicbliss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wow!! Used a whole can of Guinness and used Corned Beef in place of the beef stew meat. Doubled the garlic and tomato paste and added a couple of chopped potatoes. Browned the meat did everything else as recipe states but then I did put it in the crock pot for 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it had absolutely no flavor. I ended up having to add a bunch of extra spices and in the end it turned out good, but the recipe as is was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States