Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
It was nice until I served it on mashed potatoes, as suggested. Then it completely mixed with the mashed potato to make it a flavorless soupy potato mess. The potatoes dulled out the flavor of the stew, and the stew overly watered the mashed potatoes. Unfortunately, even before the potatoes, it wasn't amazing enough for me to want to make again. Not awful, just not particularly noteworthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The first time I made this was for St. Patrick's Day a year ago. We loved it! I have made it countless times since then. The reason I gave it 4 starts is... The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and it just seemed to be missing something. (although still very good) I have played around with the recipe a bit, and tailored it to our tastes. In addition to the original recipe I add... 3 to 4 Bay Leaves and about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire Sauce. Guinness Extra Stout is the beer of choice for us, 1 bottle, and I will add a little extra tomato paste if it needs to be thickened up. All in all, this is a top notch stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent stew, I make this for St. Patrick's day. To top this dish off, I bring a drizzle bottle of very good balsamic vinegar to the table. Each diner can drizzle as little or as much as they want to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Delish! Hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious. The longer it cooks, the better it gets (and the less it tastes like beer stew).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Brought this to my monthly cooking club & it was a hit. Followed the recipe, but due to time limitations I prepared in the skillet the night before, then put it in the slow cooker on low and let it cook all day the next day. I used a full can of guiness beer & also added 1 cup of beef broth to the slow cooker to keep it moist, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The flavor of the stout is very strong, making for an unusual taste for beef stew. The meat was wonderfully tender, and it makes a nice gravy. Bottom line is that although it was good, I prefer regular beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Okay as a base start, but it needs a lot of help otherwise (even AFTER I incorporated a lot of "most helpful reviews" tips). Don't let the picture fool you -- it looks better than it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for the cook along dish at the forum I belong to and I made a few adjustments to the recipe based a little on the review by one of the members. However, I also tried to stick to the recipe as much as possible. I added some new red potatoes, halved or quartered, and didn't chop the carrots but rather bought the slivered kind. I used 3 cloves of crushed garlic, also 3 bay leaves and aside from the Guinness I used an entire can of beef broth, due to the amount of vegetables. A little extra tomato paste than what it was called for and extra Worcestershire sauce. I made it in the Dutch Oven and it smelled wonderful. Here is the huge surprise... my kids loved it! My daughter had a friend over whose mom is Irish and he said that it was better than the one his mother makes. I made this on St. Patrick's Day and I WOULD and am making it again as I'm typing this. Like I said it was a hit. I kind of played with the seasonings a bit and since I didn't have fresh Thyme I used powdered and leaves. I know now that I don't care for Guinness. But liked the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
What an awesome recipe!! I served this stew over Champ. My family raved about the meal. I added 24 oz. of Guinness instead of the 1 1/2 cups. I wanted to be sure there was enough gravy. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used 1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme. I also added about 2 tsps. of sugar, and some Mrs. Dash and celery salt to taste. I thought this recipe was easy to prepare, and so delicious! A definite recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States