Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent stew, I make this for St. Patrick's day. To top this dish off, I bring a drizzle bottle of very good balsamic vinegar to the table. Each diner can drizzle as little or as much as they want to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Delish! Hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious. The longer it cooks, the better it gets (and the less it tastes like beer stew).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Brought this to my monthly cooking club & it was a hit. Followed the recipe, but due to time limitations I prepared in the skillet the night before, then put it in the slow cooker on low and let it cook all day the next day. I used a full can of guiness beer & also added 1 cup of beef broth to the slow cooker to keep it moist, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The flavor of the stout is very strong, making for an unusual taste for beef stew. The meat was wonderfully tender, and it makes a nice gravy. Bottom line is that although it was good, I prefer regular beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Okay as a base start, but it needs a lot of help otherwise (even AFTER I incorporated a lot of "most helpful reviews" tips). Don't let the picture fool you -- it looks better than it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for the cook along dish at the forum I belong to and I made a few adjustments to the recipe based a little on the review by one of the members. However, I also tried to stick to the recipe as much as possible. I added some new red potatoes, halved or quartered, and didn't chop the carrots but rather bought the slivered kind. I used 3 cloves of crushed garlic, also 3 bay leaves and aside from the Guinness I used an entire can of beef broth, due to the amount of vegetables. A little extra tomato paste than what it was called for and extra Worcestershire sauce. I made it in the Dutch Oven and it smelled wonderful. Here is the huge surprise... my kids loved it! My daughter had a friend over whose mom is Irish and he said that it was better than the one his mother makes. I made this on St. Patrick's Day and I WOULD and am making it again as I'm typing this. Like I said it was a hit. I kind of played with the seasonings a bit and since I didn't have fresh Thyme I used powdered and leaves. I know now that I don't care for Guinness. But liked the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
What an awesome recipe!! I served this stew over Champ. My family raved about the meal. I added 24 oz. of Guinness instead of the 1 1/2 cups. I wanted to be sure there was enough gravy. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used 1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme. I also added about 2 tsps. of sugar, and some Mrs. Dash and celery salt to taste. I thought this recipe was easy to prepare, and so delicious! A definite recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very good and easy to make, I did cut back on the Guinness to a total of 3/4 cup which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a fabulous stew. I used more flour than called for, but I also used more meat. I blended the flour mixture into a large plastic bag so I could toss and coat the beef cubes easier. I was a bit concerned that the onion should be chopped fine, but that was not necessary at all. I did not have tomato paste, so I simply added ketchup -no water added of course. I did not chop the carrots, either. I like to simply add the baby peeled carrots as they are. I also added fresh green beans after a couple of hours because I like them in any stew. The other thing I added which was from another recipe on this site, was some whiskey in addition to a full bottle of Guinness. Some commented that the stew lacked flavor. The written recipe clearly states to adjust spices to your liking. I felt that it needed more spice, so I simply added more of the listed spices until it met my liking. I also added dried parsley instead of garnishing with fresh. I started my stew early and I noticed that the longer it cooked, the better it got. At 3 hours it was good. At 4-5 hours it was incredible! Thanks for the recipe. The changes that I made were only to cut back on prep time and accomodate what I had on hand. I can't say for sure whether or not the whiskey changed this stew much, but I will definitely be adding it again just in case. I served this over mashed potatoes...YUMMY..............We all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States