Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I tried this out tonight for St. Patrick's Day and I'm very happy that I did! A little while back I tried a similar recipe on this site called "Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon" from MNIKOLAISEN. My stew didn't come out very good that time, but I also made a few errors. This stew though was perfect in every single way! Comparing the recipes, I think dredging the meat in flour before browning is the way to go. This made my beer broth thicken up enough that I didn't have to worry about it evaporating (which happened with the other recipe). I used a good dark malt beer which was delicious. I noticed a lot of negative reviews focused on this being too bland. Yes, it will be bland if you don't do anything to it! It says right in step 3 to taste and adjust seasoning before serving. Everyone likes their stew different ways, therefore I do not count this as something negative. I added two large cloves of garlic, a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, one bay leaf, one vegetable bouillon cube, salt and pepper. Mmmmm! Yum! Use your common sense when seasoning and this stew will be heavenly. I also really liked the addition of the tomato paste which the other recipe omitted. I think it gave the sauce a wonderful rich color. Overall, I was quite pleased with the outcome. I simmered my stew for about 1 hour and 20 minutes and it thickened beautifully and the meat was very tender. I served it over Colcannon and I had a great St. Patrick's Day dinner! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I also loved this stew. Great for St. Patty's day! I did have to add more salt than what is asked for. The whole family loved it. I will diffidently make this a tradition for the green holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This came out very bitter. Next time I would only use a small amount of the guiness beer and use beef broth for the rest of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added boiled potatoes to the stew in the end. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Love this stew! Served it over mashed potatoes like some others suggested. I put a little horseradish in the potatoes and it was fabulous! Will definitely make again and again :) Thank you want2hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotus Bloosom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We ate this but it was really bland. I followed the direction with just a couple additions thinking that would up the flavor. I added a little allspice to the flour mix and went heavy on both the black and cayenne peppers. I increased the thyme and added a few dashes of worchestershire. Good enough to eat but I will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe. We made it just as written, with two exceptions. We waited and added the carrots for the last hour. We also put cubed potatoes in the stew for the last 40 minutes rather than serving over mashed. We and our guests loved this stew and it was a great alternative to corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I found this too greasy, and did not like the flavor of the tomato paste at all. I usually use the same ingredients, but leave out the tomatoes and garlic. I think it ruins the flavor a bit. I made a whole batch last St. Patty's day and gave it away because my husband and I didn't like the flavor at all, but other people might. I would cut down the oil to two tablespoons, and then take out the beef, drain the oil, add a whole bottle and a half of guinness to get the bits off the bottom, then add the onion and beef back. I also add beef broth and potatoes to it; the potatoes help to thicken the stew. If you like the flavor of tomato paste and garlic in your stew with less broth, then this is for you! I agree with the other reviewers that it lacked flavor. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wasnt sure how this would come out but my family and I downed this whole thing in one night!!! Its perfect exactly how it is. The only thing was I added potatoes. Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very good. Used 2 bottles of Guiness stout and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States