Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Easy an yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Followed the recipe but the flavor was bland, so like others, I added some brown sugar and worcestershire sauce. I also added some beef stock as the mixture was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is an excellent recipe!! I've made it a couple of times and my family LOVES it. In stead of simmering it on the stove for a couple of hours I dump it into the crockpot and set it to low. Then I don't have to do anything until we're ready to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was really, really good. Of course, I did my own thing with the basic concept. I had 1 lb of stew beef, coated it with flour and browned it in bacon grease after cooking 4 slices of bacon to add to stew. Browned the onions as directed. After reading many reviews and other recipes using stout, I reduced the renderings using the stout (full can of Murphy's) beef broth, tomato paste and some apricot jam, because many recipes I read added prunes, but I didn't have any.... (sorry, i did not measure any of these, just eyeballed.) I put the meat, onions, broth mixture, carrots, some chopped celery, white potatoes and sweet potatoes in a crock pot. I did not have fresh time so I added fresh rosemary. I added some garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Let it cook on low all day when I was at work, at least 9 hours. When I got home, I cooked some noodles and added them to the crock pot to soak up the extra broth. wow. very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I just dumped everything into the crock pot and cooked on high for 4 hours. Served over mashed potatoes as others suggested. I added a tsp of hot sauce at the end, which added a tiny kick. Perfect. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good, I did however add a few Quartered red potatoes and about a cup of chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really, really good. After deglazing the pan, I transferred it to a crockpot & added basil. Cooked on low for around 6 hours. Served over mashed potatoes. We loved it as is, the flavor was wonderful. Didn't find it bitter like other reviewers did. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Just excellent at St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because is a great concept. Now, I didn't realize I HATED Guiness beer as much as I do! LOL..as other reviewers had done, I tried to take out the bitterness of it by adding brown sugar..then I added worcheshire..some beef broth..more tomato paste, cooked it longer. This helped some, but this stew is not to MY likiing. If you like Guiness beer, make this dish! If not, don't waste your money. I may try again one day using a different beer. But again, I am not giving it a bad review, this is just MY personal preference. And don't forget, some say it was too bland, this is where step 3 comes in, taste and adjust seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My husband was obsessed with Guinness beef stew in Dublin, so I was excited to try out this recipe when we got home. It came close to the "real thing," but seemed to be lacking something...I'm just not sure what?! I recommend letting the stew cook without a lid for the last hour before you serve it so it has a chance to thicken up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States