Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Fantastic. I made this for my family and then had 7 extra people show up for dinner. I was scraping the pot to get every last speck for everybody. One man even asked me for the recipe. I did add red potatoes, celery, concentrated beef stock, bay leaf, Worcestershire sauce and extra cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Not that great of an irish stew. My husband is irish and he reckons it wasn't that great. It was very bland- and I added potatoes because you can't have irish stew withour potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was SUPER good! We'll make it again and serve it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My husband and I had an excellent stew at a Belgian restaurant at the Gold Coast. We then set out to find a recipe that tasted as good - AND THIS IS IT!!! We added some brown sugar and worcestershire sauce and it was perfect! We also made it with Diane's Colcannon as per other recommendations :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
As a native New Englander I have eaten my fair share of beef stew from a variety of cooks. This recipe put every previous spoonful of stew to shame. The taste was awesome. This recipe has redefined for me waht stew should be. It is the gold standard of stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was SO good! I made it on st. pattys day, and served it over goat cheese colcannon (I sauteed cabbage, onions and bacon, and mixed it together with goat cheese mashed potatoes). I used parsnips and carrots, and added chopped leeks near the end. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This tasted so good!! It will always be my stew recipe from now on. I made 'Dianes Colcannon' potatoes off this site,, (mashed potatoes with cabbage and bacon, onions etc) and put a scoop of potatoes down on a plate and poured a scoop of stew over that. My in'laws were over to eat, and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
So I read through a lot of the reviews and made some changes while i was cooking I reversed the order of cooking the onion and beef...I remembered from cooking curry that if I wanted the sweetness of onion to really come out I had to cook it at low temperature for a long period of time until it's very very brown. However doing this will melt your onion. So I applied that here...cooked onion first then beef Stuff I added 2 cups of beef broth bay leaves basil brown sugar 6 Potatoes cubed (all different sizes) sliced mushrooms I did use 1 bottle of guiness I found that my stew turned out great I did not have the problem other people had b/c it was too soup like I think it's b/c of the potatoes I added that soaked up some of the water and I did cook it with the lid off for about an half an hour letting a lot of the water evaporate out of the pot I also might have used more flour then what was needed because I wasn't measuring and just poured flour until all my beef was covered. Bf had the stew over rice and I had mine with pita chips that I made using greek pitas :) very yummy even though I burned the bottom of the pot a bit >_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious recipe!! We didn't follow the recipe order to making this, by accident, but it still came out tasty and so tender! Super easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's parents. I had never tried it so I was hesitant to invite company to join us. My worries went out the window upon the first bite by all. Everyone loved the recipe. I started by coating meat with flour and browing in a large skillet, added the tomato paste mixed with the small amount of water but then I transferred it to my slow cooker and cooked on low all day. I used 3lbs of lean beef instead of 2 lbs, a 6oz can of tomato paste, a 14.9 ounce can of guinness. Shortly before serving, I added a small amount of gravy master to thicken the sauce a little more. I served it over mashed red potatoes and left the skin on. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States