Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was a little reserved about using just beer because I don't like it, but this turned out great! I couldn't find any Stout beers, so I used Bud Light because my husband drinks it. Everyone loved it and it was great over mashed potatoes. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This dish is a real winner. I'll be making this one for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for my family for St. Patricks Day dinner and boy was I glad I did!! I loved the ease of this recipe by cooking everything in one pan. I did not bother measuring out the tomatoe paste...just use the whole 6 oz can nor did I measure the beer, just use the whole bottle 11.2 oz Like others suggested I added about 2 tbsp of brown sugar to cut the bitterness. It seemed too thick so I added about 2 c beef broth also then simmered for almost 3 hrs. Came out perfect, very yummy. Definately recommend to serve this with the amazingly easy Irish soda bread from this site. Thanks for a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkitts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I actually joined the site just to review this recipe. Out of all the recipes I hve tried off AllRecipes, this one was the WORST! It was bland, but at the same time had a bitter after taste. After reading the comments, I even tried browning the meat in a separate serving of Guiness and adding a touch more garlic and some Kosher salt. I added two stalks of celery and four red potators (cut up) and a cup of frozen peas the last hour--no luck. If you are still interested in trying this recipe I'd say try to add some strong beef stock or boullion cubes to turn up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
So sad. This looked fabulous and the reviews were so good. I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled great while it was cooking, but it did not taste nearly as good. My husband thought it tasted funny. My mom didn't care for it, and I felt like it was missing something. I had high hopes and we were all just sadly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Made this with Irish Champ for a St Patrick's day dinner party, everyone loved it! I added celery, and a bit of brown sugar to balance out the bitterness of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Good recipe, but didn't have as much stout flavor as I thought it might. I increased the beer to 2 bottles and a little V8 in place of the tomato paste. Oh, and I used my slow cooker on low while I was at work for 8 hours. Tender and yummy though - served over garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Irish eyes were surely smiling last night after devouring this tasty stew at a family gathering. I took the reccomendation of a prvious poster (luv2eat)and used my crockpot after following all the directions for browning, deglazing, etc. A bit more work, but the flavors are truly more developed by this method. I needed to add very little extra broth and after 4 hrs. on high the meat was as tender as could be. I then added the carrots and continued cooking on low for another 2 hrs. Served over smashed garlic potatoes it was everything I had hoped for. Good thing I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAN22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very good flavor, and very filling. However the serving sizes were off. We added extra meat and stuff and barely fed four people. I would double the recipe automatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This turned out so wonderful! I let simmer for about 3 1/2 hours at a very low temperature and the beef was starting to break up it was so tender. I served this with Irish Champ from the site, and that complimented this dish so well. Everyone that tried this said they never had beef stew turn out so tender. I mixed a small amount of cornstarch with cold water and added just before serving to thicken a bit. I will definitely use this often. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States