Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
So sad. This looked fabulous and the reviews were so good. I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled great while it was cooking, but it did not taste nearly as good. My husband thought it tasted funny. My mom didn't care for it, and I felt like it was missing something. I had high hopes and we were all just sadly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Made this with Irish Champ for a St Patrick's day dinner party, everyone loved it! I added celery, and a bit of brown sugar to balance out the bitterness of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Good recipe, but didn't have as much stout flavor as I thought it might. I increased the beer to 2 bottles and a little V8 in place of the tomato paste. Oh, and I used my slow cooker on low while I was at work for 8 hours. Tender and yummy though - served over garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Irish eyes were surely smiling last night after devouring this tasty stew at a family gathering. I took the reccomendation of a prvious poster (luv2eat)and used my crockpot after following all the directions for browning, deglazing, etc. A bit more work, but the flavors are truly more developed by this method. I needed to add very little extra broth and after 4 hrs. on high the meat was as tender as could be. I then added the carrots and continued cooking on low for another 2 hrs. Served over smashed garlic potatoes it was everything I had hoped for. Good thing I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAN22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very good flavor, and very filling. However the serving sizes were off. We added extra meat and stuff and barely fed four people. I would double the recipe automatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This turned out so wonderful! I let simmer for about 3 1/2 hours at a very low temperature and the beef was starting to break up it was so tender. I served this with Irish Champ from the site, and that complimented this dish so well. Everyone that tried this said they never had beef stew turn out so tender. I mixed a small amount of cornstarch with cold water and added just before serving to thicken a bit. I will definitely use this often. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
my family came in town from half way across the country. This was the perfect dish. I used a slow cooker and it was ready when they got here. Everyone loved it, though we all have different tastes. I did use bacon and extra guiness as many suggested. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I also simmered the stew for 3-4 hours in a crockpot instead of on the stove top. It made the beef tender. The beer adds a unique taste to the stew. It was a nice hearty meal. I served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I got scared after I added the stout because it was a little bitter, and I added 1.5 cups of water and added 3 medium potatoes. It probably would have been fine if I had left it alone and let the flavor mellow. It was so good,and better the next day. My husband who usually turns his nose up at stew loved it and asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imachampion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I've made this for my dad a couple times, and he RAVES about it. I don't like beer at all, but it has a wonderful flavor. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States