Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I make a similar stew to this. i use this entire recipe but Instead of throwing all the meat in at once, brown it in small batches and DON'T add flour until last few minutes of final batch. Then remove meat and brown about 1 cup of very finely chopped onions, carrots, and clove of garlic over medium heat about 5-7 minutes stirring often. Use some guiness to loosen up the brown bits in the pan and add meat back to the stew and continue. The meat will brown way better in small batches (patience) and give more flavor instead of steaming in it's juices when you crown the pan. The idea is: little bit of meat = drier heat & inside doesn't overcook + outside crusty. The roasted veggies add a deep flavor that I love in most stews. I think it's a key step. Vary the amount to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I searved this recipe last St.Paddy's Day and could not belive how fast it went. It is wonderful served with colcannonl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I had such high hopes for this recipe; I love making stews. Although it created a nice gravy, it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I made it for the family tonight and they all loved it, which is rare. I also added about half a cup more beer than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe for leftover roast or steak! I add a 1/2 more stout and serve over a crisped baked potato with Kashmiri chili powder garnish. Undoubtedly my gourmet man's favorite homestlye meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this! Made a few changes based on what I had on hand... used Sam Adams ale vs stout and the flavor was still great! Used chicken stock vs beef, added a stalk of chopped celery and used several sprigs of fresh thyme. I allso ommitted the cayenne but used a generous amount of salt & pepper. I served over mashed potatoes and it was great! Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
DELICIOUS just as is! I served it over mashed potatoes and could have consumed the entire recipe in one sitting. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
A fabulos recipe, especially with the addition of some Yellow Tail merlot! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was absolutely fantastic!!! I do not care for beer but this dish changed my mind. I used Guiness and the meat was so tender. I made this exactly as written except for adding 2 tbsp brown sugar and some worcestershire sauce. I was going to add potatoes like I usually do with stews but reading reviews I decided to serve instead the Irish Champ also found on this site. I am so glad I did. Why save this delicious dish for St. Patricks's day.......make it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
my fave beef stew recipe to date - I have the pre-cut meat (just put it in a freezer bag with flout and montreal meat seasoning and shook it up, browned it in some canola oil and marsala wine and onion, added that to the crockpot, then used a bottle of guiness and beef broth and worcestershire sauce in the pan, poured that in the pot with 2 cloves garlic, mushrooms, a rutabaga (lg round turnip), carrots, yukon gold potatoes, celery, 3 bay leaves, paprika filled until my crockpot is to the brim - will serve with Irish champ -yum! Thanks Want2hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irisheyesva08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States