Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this on St. Patty's day instead of the normal corn beef and cabbage and it was a great hit! I added more beer than called for and it seemed to help keep the flavor around. And while I love to play with things and change them, there isn't very much I would change with this reciepe...except serve with mashed potatoes and Car Bombs and you have the makings of a great night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Excellent stew, I cheated a little and used frozen stew vegetables. I browned the meat and finished the stew in my crockpot. My family loved this, this will be the only stew recipe I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I added more than a pinch of cayenne pepper and some smoked paprika to the flour mixture. Also, after adding the first 1/2 cup of beer and bringing it to a boil I then transferred it to a crock pot and cooked on low for 3 hours. Everyone loved it! I made the amazingly easy Irish Soda bread recipe from this site to dip in the stew. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The beef came out sooo good in this recipe. Though I think the guinness made the carrots and base a bit bitter. I would probably add some brown sugar next time I make this... and more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good and surprisingly easy to prep. I used Newcastle beer (1 bottle) and it really came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wonderful recipe!! I added everything but the cayenne pepper (only because I forgot to buy some) and it was absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it at my St. Patrick's Day dinner. The Guinness made the stew thicken up and gave it a very nice, rich flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicbliss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wow!! Used a whole can of Guinness and used Corned Beef in place of the beef stew meat. Doubled the garlic and tomato paste and added a couple of chopped potatoes. Browned the meat did everything else as recipe states but then I did put it in the crock pot for 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it had absolutely no flavor. I ended up having to add a bunch of extra spices and in the end it turned out good, but the recipe as is was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I omitted the tomato paste and browned the meat in Marsala wine as someone suggested,also I used Guinness Draught beer(shelves were empty of stout). This recipe is fantastic. I served it over green Irish Champ potatoes and also had Irish soda bread. I will be making this for any time of the year, it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I'm sorry, but this was terrible in my opinion. I have never had a meal fall so flat in my life! This had no flavor even after adding brown sugar, bay leaves, & worcestershire sauce. Maybe I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly. Very disappointing. This is my first bad review ever--sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States