Beef and Guinness® Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We didn't use Guiness, but a home town favorite, Sprecher Bavarian! It was wonderful and my kids really enjoyed it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This stew is FANTASTIC! I threw in a couple extra slices of bacon, used a Guinness Extra Stout and substituted my homemade beef bone broth for the chicken broth. I made Paula Deen's garlic mashed potatoes and the combination is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made it for a dinner party and I followed the recipe exactly. It was easily the best stew I have ever had. This is going to be my new go to winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brant Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent! Used beef round instead of chuck. Used a bit more carrot and celery. Used 2 tsp dried thyme. Used leeks instead of onion. Used 1 pot only - did bacon, removed. Did beef removed. Did leeks/garlic, then added everything else back in. Put about 6 TBS flour and 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in ziplock bag and shook meat in it to coat, then browned. Took about 1.5 hrs to cook or less covered (used cast iron dutch oven), then uncovered for the 15-20 min. It is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very hardy stew perfect for a cool evening. The use of Guinness was very interesting but the flavor was certainly enhanced by this dark beer. Will definitely add this to the repeat list!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Also great over long grain rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
OK, I have been using allrecipies.com for as long as I can remember. I have never left a review on anything good or bad. My husbands favorite thing for me to cook is stew, but I never found anything that we all felt was THE STEW until now. This is AMAZING. Also, let me say, I am feeding a VERY finicky husband, a even MORE finicky 9 yr old, a 6 yr old and a 5 yr old. Each of whom LOVED this. The only thing diff I did was add more veggies, coat the meat in flour before I browned it, I couldn't find Guinness so I used some other dark beer, (it was a pint and 6 oz, used it all) 2 cans off beef broth, and dried thyme instead of fresh. I also made as another poster suggested the Irish soda bread from this site...and put the stew over chunks of that in bowls. Again, to die for. Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe, my 4 yr long search for "THE STEW" is over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This sparked my interest because my husband Loves Guinness. So easy to follow added my own twist with a little beef stock because I found it was a little to thick for me. But this is amazing!!! Perfect with Mash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Geneus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Awesome - very easy to make and received rave reviews from my husband and another couple. I threw it together, put it in the dutch oven and simmered it for 3 hours. It has delicious flavor. I didn't get to eat any of the left overs as they were "called" by husband. Serve it with yukon gold mashed potatoes. I added beef bones to the pot and took them out b4 serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Buckwalter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Made this stew last night and served it with mashed potatoes. The family LOVED it. I have been making beef stew for years, and this was the best yet. The flavors are delicious and I especially like that it does not require flour or cornstarch as a thickener. Chef John, thank you for sharing this recipe, it is all that you described and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States