Beef and Guinness® Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe was awesome! I followed precisely with the exception of thyme, which two grocery stores didn't have in stock. I substituted with dried oregano & basil. This is definitely going to be a regular favorite in my house. When I make it again I'll try thyme if it's available. Big thumbs up Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I fixed this for my dad and his wife, and me and my fiancé and our two kids, 13 and 8. Everyone loved it. I fixed it as the recipe read except for adding more because my 13 year old can eat his weight in beef. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this Guinness beef stew exactly as the recipe says. I used Guinness Draught for the beer. I served it over garlic mashed potatoes. It was delicious! I have some picky eaters in my family and surprisingly everyone loved it. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Thanks for the recipe, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I can’t wait to make this stew the right way! Here’s the deal -- I messed the recipe up so bad that I was forced to drain off the chicken and Guinness broth and rinse the bacon, beef and vegetables. (Don’t ask…just chalk it up to being new in the kitchen). But this still turned out to be a 5 Star meal. It was so good that my wife requested we make it the next weekend and invite her boss over to try it! So if I make it correct the first time, this should be a three star Michelin Restaurant Guide recipe. I’m so glad we have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I first tried this at a pub in Ireland and I fell in love with it. I just had to find a recipie and make it for myself. This taste EXACTLY like the one i had in Ireland. Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious! I made a couple of changes to the recipe: I used bottom round roast and beef stock instead of chicken, and added two cubed potatoes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Stayed true to the recipe except that I sprinkled garlic powder on the beef prior to browning. This stew had the richest, most savory sauce. I attribute that to the Guinness and tomato paste. Simmered in a cast iron Dutch oven for 2 full hours, stirring frequently. The result was a thick, delicious stew that paired perfectly with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Awesome recipe! Thank you Chef John....you've done it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I'm slipping quickly into a food coma after just finishing the most PHENOMENAL beef stew EVER. Oh...my...word. Don't give into the temptation to switch beef stock for the chicken stock. Chicken stock is perfect with the beer. Beef stock would be overpowering in this dish. Only thing I did different was to let it simmer for about 4.5 hours in the cast iron dutch oven before finishing it off with the mentioned boiling to reduce the sauce. My kids, ages 7,8 and 11 ate every single drop on their plate and have asked for me to bring them this to their school lunch tomorrow. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States