Beef and Guinness® Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This recipe came out wonderful. I used beef brisket and simmered for 2+ hours. I added summer squash and corn at the end. Served over mashed potatoes- yum. Recipe is going into favorite file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I made double this recipe so I could freeze some for later. Only problem was, there was not much left to freeze after feeding 4 people, who wanted it a second meal. I was lucky to have a quart left to save for later. This is the best beef stew recipe I have ever found. So rich and hearty, it heals the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hawn Stiel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
LOVED!!! made this for Joyce and Dad and Sweet Bobby 8/9/15, tho it definitely is a summer dish. definitely make it with mashed potatoes and serve it in a bowl OVER the mashed potatoes. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Great recipe! Used beef broth instead of chicken stock - otherwise followed recipe as listed. Consistency thickened on own with reduction at end. Served with mashed potatoes. Cooked in my dutch oven with great success, a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This recipe is delicious and super easy to make. I usually double the garlic and the celery, because it's a lot of meat. I serve it over broad noodles instead of mashed potatoes just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This was my first time making a beef stew. I seasoned my meat with tony's(I live in Baton Rouge,La. so Tony's goes on everything). I also added more Thyme then what it asked for. I added red potatoes and served over rice instead of Mashed Potatoes. Everyone loved it!!! A excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Excellent, only change I made was Beef broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This recipe is amazing, there is absolutely no need to change anything, except add more carrots and more celery like I did. To take it to the next level, instead of serving over potatoes drop in some dumpling batter into the stew in the last 15 minutes of cooking and don't thicken, the dumplings will thicken the stew up plenty. Seriously this is the bomb! This is a huge hit in our household and it gets served at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hughie Papagei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Chef John never lets me down! Thank you. I throw in 2 bay leaves as well but otherwise keep it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States