Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe but I did make some changes. Instead of the tomato sauce I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with the juice and a small can of tomato paste. I also added a can of drained corn and a gutted and diced jalapeno to add a little kick. I added these along with the rest of the veggies and let it simmer for 70 minutes. Both myself and my partner absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly.edlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
something so easy my boyfriend went crazy over... every bite literally said wow... i don't get it... it was like the easiest recipe... time consuming but easy and he was totally having his moment with this meal.. and i spend so much time on exotic recipes... geez i'll make this one again. I left out the tomato sauce because i didnt wanna keep digging in the cupboard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this recipe in my pressure cooker and it cut the cooking time down to about 35 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I browned the beef in a little oil for about 12 minutes, pressure cooked the meat, broth, onion, and spices for 15 minutes, added the veggies and pressure cooked for 7 minutes, added the tomato sauce and pressure cooked for 1 minute. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe is very good. I am not a celery person, so I left the celery out completely! I prepared it exactly as written minus celery and it is very yummy. It took longer than 45 minutes for my potatoes and carrots to get tender but that only helped my stew meat to get even softer! It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
ok, is it fair to give this 5 stars when I didn't follow the recipe? I just had to because this soup is so delicious and soooooo good for us!!! I used 1 pound of beef, 15 oz tomato sauce, 6 cups of beef broth, 4 large handful of coleslaw mix (Sam's club), 2 large carrots, 1 onion, 1 c each of frozen green beans and corn and salt and pepper...and one tsp of sugar to balance the acidity of the tomatoes. OH WOW! simple, delicious, hearty, healthy goodness in a bowl. Exactly what I want my family to eat to nourish themselves!!! the twenty minutes of simmering are almost up and the troops are starting to circle!!! I've taste-tested a little bowl already and I can hardly wait for more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Simple and hearty recipe. We initially made the soup exactly as instructed but ended up doubling up on the broth halfway through. We will definitely make again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is so good! Especially the next day after flavors meld. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
First let me say I am a beginner when it comes to making actual hearty home cooked meals with fresh meat and veges. and this meal was GREAT! Growng up my mom alaways made meals from scrath and this remided me of coming home from school as a child and smelling her yummy stew before I even hit the side walk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Excellent recipe! made this last night and followed the recipe exactly except added extra vegetables. Both my husband and i loved it, and i can't wait to have leftovers for lunch. Make this on a cold night and serve with a glass of red and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
It is our favorite! Perfect without any changes. My husband has never liked stew because the vegetables are usually overcooked. He raved and raved about how perfect they came out, just by following the preparation instructions. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States