Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Pure comfort food. One of those dishes that's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario Patrice Duff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I didn't have a bay leaf or cabbage which must be what is needed for the flavor. Mine was not flavorful. All the reviews were outstanding, so I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was pretty good but I'm still looking for my go to recipe for beef stew. I did like the meat being simmered first in the broth and bouillon for a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've been using this site for 2 yrs. this is my first review. Turned out great!! My 3 picky kids ate 2 bowls each! Ty for posting :) it is all about the simmer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Only change I made was to cook in my pressure cooker. Total recipe took about 1 hour start to finish. Really impressed the grand aunt and was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harry Arnold
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I've never made a successful stew before but this one turned out great.... The key was to cook the stew meat long and slow to get it tender and to throw your vegetables in during the last cooking hour which for me was at the one and half hour mark. I did make some adjustments but nothing extreme. I used 2 and half pounds stew meat. I used meat tenderizer on the stew while I browned the meat. I added 8 red potatoes since they were already on hand. Added corn. 4 cups of beef unsalted broth. A browning agent. And also added a half cup of sugar to eliminate the acids from the red sauce since I'm not a fan of mixing red and brown gravys in the first place. My picture of finished product is in the gallery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This had great flavor and I loved the addition of the cabbage. This is a yummy beef stew :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
First off, I followed the recipe exactly except for draining the grease because there seemed to be very little. It was just mostly moisture from the meat. Now I will tell you that I was very doubtful of this recipe most of the time while it was cooking, through all phases. I'm a sampler and I kept dipping my spoon in and thinking that I was going to have to help it a lot to make it edible. I now have the tomato sauce in and still it's just blah. However, after about 20 minutes, the flavor came together and it was fantastic. However, it did require a fair bit of salt. I'm very happy that I didn't drain the juice at the beginning because the gravy ratio was just perfect as it was and I think it may have been too dry without it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Fantastic flavor. The only changes I made was I did not measure the cabbage I just added the whole head, why measure if you love cabbage. I also added roasted garlic. I always have some in my refrigerator and it makes a great addition to any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious. I have never cared for traditional stew, but loved this. I only made a couple of minor changes. I used turnips instead of potatoes since my husband is diabetic. I think the turnips made it better than potatoes would have. I also used organic "better that boullion" for boullion and broth since I was using grass fed organic beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States