Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I dont know what I did wrong? After 1 hour there was virtually no liquid in the pot cooking the meat. I had the temp on 4, but I was using my wider 3" pot with a lid. That is typically a simer with it. After 1 hour, I ended up having to add five cups of water. The meat was plenty tender, so I just added the vegetables at that point. I simmered it about 45 more minutes, adding the tomato sauce at some point. My only change was adding an extra carrot and using a 10oz bag of shredded cabbacabbage, which equaled 4 cups approximately. A bit of my potatoes did disolve, along with the cabbage, but it thickened the soup anyhow. I like all the vegetables in this, but for me that is a long time sitting over a pot. I near halved all the cooking times and it was still plenty. I rated this a 4 for flavor. Its actually pretty good and much less salty tasting than other stews. Just a little too time consuming for a week night meal for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The absolute best recipe we've tried on this website! You must add the extra both when the veggies go in. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made this tonight with no changes. Very good, will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith McAllister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia Manning
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I love this recipe! Recently made and followed direction the only thing I add was chicken wings. Just like my mom stew with the wings. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have made beef stew and it is good ,but this recipe was even better, more nutritious, and lower in calories. I put everything into a pressure cooker and cooked it about an hour. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved and did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Pure comfort food. One of those dishes that's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario Patrice Duff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I didn't have a bay leaf or cabbage which must be what is needed for the flavor. Mine was not flavorful. All the reviews were outstanding, so I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was pretty good but I'm still looking for my go to recipe for beef stew. I did like the meat being simmered first in the broth and bouillon for a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've been using this site for 2 yrs. this is my first review. Turned out great!! My 3 picky kids ate 2 bowls each! Ty for posting :) it is all about the simmer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States