Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe and added some extra broth with the vegetables. At the end I used a little beef broth and cornstarch to thicken it up but it still lacked something. I think it gets better the longer it sets but if you only wait 20 minutes it seems very bland. It was good enough that I will try again but maybe add some corn and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AimeeLDeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The perfect stew! We do make changes according to some of the reviews but I think it would be great without them. We add some red wine, use beef stock and no water. Add 2 cloves of pressed garlic while browning the onions, before we add the meat back in. Will be a regular dinner during fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
OMG! I just finished a huge bowl of this and would have had more if I wasn't so stuffed! I've been cooking for the last four and a half decades and have made more than my share of stews. I would have to say that this is the best darned pot of stew that I've ever made! Now, I can't stand folks who rate a recipe 5 stars and then go on to tell you the myriad changes they made to the original. Submit your own recipe if your version is so terrific. That being said, LOL, here are the minimal changes that I made. For health reasons I used reduced sodium broth and salt free tomato sauce. I also found a salt free onion soup mix and used a tablespoon of that instead of the cube of salt-laden bullion. I also left out the celery as I didn't have any and caramelized the onions to add a bit more depth of flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Oh, I added a bit of flour towards the end as I am not partial to thin stew. Even with the salt reduced to almost nothing, the taste was wonderful. All the flavors melded together without any one ingredient outshining the others. All in all, a very easy, flavorful stew for a chilly or raw fall or winter night. Thank you Paul for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Let me join the ranks of the raving reviewers. I am usually not a stew lover but I had some top round steak I needed to use and found this recipe. I made it exactly as written (with the exception of not peeling the potatoes) and it was delicious. Just the right consistency and the cabbage flavor is very subtle. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
As someone who doesn't eat enough vegetables, I was looking for a recipe to get more veggies into my diet. This really did the trick! My boyfriend loves it. We follow the directions mostly as listed (sometimes leaving out the onion, because I don't like them), and it always turns out great. The cabbage is the star of the dish. We love to add TONS of cabbage to this recipe, especially because the cabbage shrinks as it cooks. I took away one star though because the tomato sauce flavor is very overpowering. Although my boyfriend loves the tomato flavor, I do not, and we have started using half a can to reduce the strong tomato flavor a bit. It's still delicious, but with the full can of tomato sauce, all I could taste was tomato, and I really wanted to enjoy the other flavors in the dish. Half a can works for us. It keeps the tomato flavor in the dish without overpowering the other flavors at work. Overall, great recipe! Really enjoyed it, and it is now one of our "regulars"! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the directions, but did add extra veges and more broth- brussel sprouts, extra potato (golden), and 1 more carrot and celery stalk. I also seasoned at each step (tasting with each season). Finally, I also thickened with pureed cooked beans instead of tomato sauce. Because of the additional veges, I had to let it simmer about 20 minutes longer. This one went into my recipe box. My husband loved it and we have enough for several nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn1120

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wishbone
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I love this beef stew it is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Don't change a thing. I have to double the recipe for my family of 5 because they fight over the tiny amount of leftovers from just one batch ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was great! My husband can't get enough of this stew when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States