Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Yummy -- with some modifications. I didn't enjoy the tomato flavor of the soup - it overpowered the dish, and wasn't quite the flavor I was looking for. So, I added a beef bouilion cube, and some "Chinese 5 Spice" (A combo of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg,anise and cloves) and a bit more ginger. I didn't measure -- but sprinkled it generously to taste. It improved this recipe dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Simply amazing! I added a few things to make it even better though. First I added about 2 teas. beef boulion. Then I finely sliced 1 medium onion, chopped 2 green onions, finely chopped about 2 teas. fresh ginger and also added black pepper. I also doubled the sauce part of the dish because it seemed like it wouldn't be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Wow! Who would have thought tomato soup would make an EXCELLENT beef broccoli? Rather than plain tomato, I used Campbell's Tomato Bisque. The recipe did not specify the type vinegar, so I used red wine vinegar, and doubled the amount. I added mushrooms and minced onions. To thicken the sauce, I added 1 T cornstarch mixed with 2 T cold water, and brought it to a boil. 1/4 t crushed red peppers was a bit mild. You could easily use 1 t for a zestier taste. I served it over fried rice. Very good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aseleener
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a good, easy way to make beef and broccoli stir-fry. I never would have thought to use tomato soup. I did change a couple of things, thanks to previous reviewers. I only used half a can of tomato soup and I used Chinese 5 spice instead of the red pepper flakes. I only used 1/4 tsp. of the 5 spice because I had never used it before and didn't know how spicy it would be. But I think next time I will use 1/2 tsp. I strongly recommend the 5 spice. It added really great flavor. My husband raved about it. I wanted to add fresh mushrooms, but didn't have any on hand. Will do this next time. Note: It didn't make 4 servings for us. The two of us ate almost all of it; there was just a bit leftover. Not even a whole serving. So go ahead and make the whole batch if cooking for two. I would double it for four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't have tomato soup on hand, so I swapped a can of tomato paste mixed with some water and a bit of sugar tossed in. This recipe is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
A very nice quick recipe. Made it exactly according to the recipe and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Abro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
really tomatoey. was good but the sauce was a bit much for me.. might make again in the future because it was super easy to make, but ill cut the tomato soup in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I started using this one a long time ago when all I ate was soup and romen noodles. It is the best. Only bad part is now I can't enjoy the beef and broc. you get from the take out places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very easy and came out thick and good. I added onions and mushrooms, and we both had seconds. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Really great quick meal on a weekday night! I used fresh garlic, and a few drops of sesame oil to add to the asian flavor...but otherwise followed word for word. One tip, add all the liquid ingredients in a bowl first then add them easily to the beef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States