Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I've made this twice now, and the second time (with modifications) was definitely better. I didn't cook the beef until the juices evaporated, because last time it turned out hard and dry. I added a bit of onion powder and just a dash of ginger. Aside from overcooking the beef the first time around, this recipe is wonderful! I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I have to admit, I wasn't really sure what to expect w/tomato soup in this recipe. I pleased to announce, it works; it really works! I did choose to marinate my beef strips in some soy sauce, white vinegar, lemon juice, and garlic all day while I was at work. I also added a splash of sesame oil to my canola oil to cook the beef. To make this even easier, I used Uncle Ben's microwavable pouch brown rice (90 seconds!). What a great weeknight meal; this will be used again at the LTH house. DISCLAIMER: We don't typically eat Chinese foods "out", so I can't make any comparisons to your favorite local take out joint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Really simple to make, and yummy. I have food allergies, so Chinese takeout is not an option. It fixed my Chinese food craving. I will say I liked it better the next day re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetandSour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was a very tasty, easy recipe, although I did make some changes: I added more vegetables (1/2 white onion, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/4 lb sliced mushrooms), reduced the vegetable oil and the condensed soup each by half, replaced the garlic powder with several minced fresh cloves, and replaced the crushed red pepper with a tablespoon of Huy Fong chili garlic sauce. I also cooked the onion and garlic briefly before adding the meat to the pan. It turned out nicely spicy and flavorful with these changes, and the tomato soup/vinegar mixture added a nice amount of tangy and sweet to offset all the chili garlic sauce. I also served it with half the proscribed amount of brown rice to make it lower calorie and more diabetic-friendly, along with a side of tangy purple cabbage coleslaw (an edited version of Angie's Dad's Best, a recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was way better than I had thought it would be. Quick and Easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
It started to taste as if the soy sauce was burning in the process or something. I had the heat down near to a simmer for the most part, never over medium so I have no clue how to have prevented this but I noticed it just moments after putting in the sauce. No one in the family ate it...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is alright. Much too tomato-y I had to go back and cut it with some more soy sauce & vinegar & it was still tasting like I added veggies & rice to tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Just Ok, it had a little bit of an odd taste but not bad. Wished it tasted more like the Beef and Brocolli from the restaurants. Will look for a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Liked it, but it needed something more, something sweet... I'll try it again and play with the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I started cooking, then realized I didn't have tomato soup or broccoli! Instead I used a can of diced tomatoes, frozen green beans, and garlic paste instead of garlic powder. It ended up being a different recipe, but the guidelines this provided were great. Great flavor from such simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States