Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was a very tasty, easy recipe, although I did make some changes: I added more vegetables (1/2 white onion, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/4 lb sliced mushrooms), reduced the vegetable oil and the condensed soup each by half, replaced the garlic powder with several minced fresh cloves, and replaced the crushed red pepper with a tablespoon of Huy Fong chili garlic sauce. I also cooked the onion and garlic briefly before adding the meat to the pan. It turned out nicely spicy and flavorful with these changes, and the tomato soup/vinegar mixture added a nice amount of tangy and sweet to offset all the chili garlic sauce. I also served it with half the proscribed amount of brown rice to make it lower calorie and more diabetic-friendly, along with a side of tangy purple cabbage coleslaw (an edited version of Angie's Dad's Best, a recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was way better than I had thought it would be. Quick and Easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
It started to taste as if the soy sauce was burning in the process or something. I had the heat down near to a simmer for the most part, never over medium so I have no clue how to have prevented this but I noticed it just moments after putting in the sauce. No one in the family ate it...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is alright. Much too tomato-y I had to go back and cut it with some more soy sauce & vinegar & it was still tasting like I added veggies & rice to tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Just Ok, it had a little bit of an odd taste but not bad. Wished it tasted more like the Beef and Brocolli from the restaurants. Will look for a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Liked it, but it needed something more, something sweet... I'll try it again and play with the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I started cooking, then realized I didn't have tomato soup or broccoli! Instead I used a can of diced tomatoes, frozen green beans, and garlic paste instead of garlic powder. It ended up being a different recipe, but the guidelines this provided were great. Great flavor from such simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MayBe27
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
good basic recipe.. with a few changes can be great. I made mine with 1 lb top round steak cut thinly. Mix 2 tbsp cornstarch with 2 tbsp water and 1tsp garlic powder and mix. coat beef before cooking. Made with carrots, onion and broccoli stir fried separately with a little red pepper flake to taste. Sauce is made by mixing 1tsp cornstarch with 1tsp water and mix.. add 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1 clove minced garlic and 1/2 tsp grated ginger. After cooking vegetables to doneness, add beef back to pan and add sauce, stir and cook for an aditional minute or two to take the edge off the garlic. You may want to loosen the sauce with a little more soy..I also like a little more brown sugar in mine. Served hot over rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayBe27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I must say after reading the reviews, I was skeptical, but I loved this! I did add 2 tsp. beef boullion as another reviewer suggested and it was tangy, and delicious! The amount of spice was perfect and with the addition of the boullion it wasn't overally tomatoey at all!!! Wonderful! Will make this often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was really yummy! I had to use another brand of tomato soup (non condensed) b/c it was what I had on hand; just let it cook down longer. And wow, this is really good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States