Beef and Brew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I'm sorry, but I gave to get something off my chest. For those reviewers that find this bland or tasteless, here's a tip: Try using this thing we call S & P!! Just because a recipe doesn't have it in there, doesn't Mean you Can't use it! OMG! My apologies Jill;)) Well, with that being said, I liked this dish a Lot! I was out of most of the veggies so decided to make it basically a stroganoff. I added some steak sauce with the beef bullion and simmered it about an hour, after which I added some sour cream. There was no noodles in the pantry so I made a wild rice to go under this yummy beef. DELISH! Thank you Jill Keeper;;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I used a chocolate beer, added 2 chopped ghost peppers, 2T garlic, 1 can petite cut tomatoes w/chiles and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Recipe is fine, I added cremé fraiche at end and thickened a little. I'd cut my meat smaller next time as I like not to have to cut it while eating a stew. Would also try it as a casserole in the oven as I think the flavours would mature more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I read the reviews and improvised a bit...I used a dark ale and 1/4 water with 1/4 broth. I caramelized the onions and slow cooked the peppers separately by sauteeing it for 20 minutes. I then added it with the steak. For an added kick, I added three serrano peppers to the flour mixture. Came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
i like this its good but i cooked the beef seperately from the rest with some beer because otherwise i found that the peppers were overcooked. mmmmm yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very bland, not much taste. We didn't hate the recipe, we just couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
It was easy to make and very delicious. We ate dinner later than planned, because the preparation took a little bit longer than 5 min. You have to keep in mind that veggies need to be cut and chopped, it takes longer than stated, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klaipeda, Klaipedos Apskritis, Lithuania
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I made this for my husband and I for dinner one night. Didn't tell him what I was making, but he could smell the "delicious smells!" Very good recipe. Leftovers were delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Fast and easy recipe. Added some ground red pepper for more zip. Omitted the green pepper. Overall, I thought it was a good recipe. Thanks for the recipe. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I was so excited to make this recipe with so many favorite ingredients, but the first time I made it, I blamed the results on tough meat from the butcher. However, I made it a second time with more tenderized meat, and it was just bland. Maybe some more spices to add richness to it???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States