Beef and Bow Ties Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe is perfect for my kids to make. We added mushrooms and more garlic, didn't have the cheese or the basil ... but eh, I didn't hear anyone complaining. Kids are fed and happy, mom is happy because the clean up was minimal, and so was the cost of the ingredients. Lucky if I spent ten dollars on the entire meal. Now that's what I'm talking bout!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Hubby wasn't a fan of this but, I liked it. Substituted garlic powder for garlic cloves, 1 Tablespoon of dried basil leaves and 1-14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes + 2 Tablespoons water. Don't let liquid evaporate, this will be dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and it was delicious! I subbed the sausage for the ground beef, and there are only 6 ingredients, if you don't count salt and pepper, which I did not find necessary to use. The sausage has plenty of flavor, and the use of fresh ingredients gave this dish a lively, interesting taste. If you do make this, try to use fresh basil, because it complements the sausage. Every bite made me want more, so I was glad DH and DS beat me to the skillet for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I added crushed red pepper to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was very simple. A lot can be added to this to really spruce it up, however it was good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
No flavor, even after I added the things others suggested. Very dry!!! Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I was looking for something different to make with ground beef and stumbled across this recipe. Thought it looked good and easy so I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed! It was delicious! I did have to make a couple of substitutions for ingredients I didn't have on hand and made a couple of additions. I didn't have any parmesan cheese or fresh basil so I used fresh grated mozarella and dried italian seasoning. I also used mini farfalle since I'm a huge fan of mini pasta. My husband and I like a bit of heat so I also added some red pepper flakes. I will definitely be making this over and over as it is so easy and fast to put together. I will use fresh grated parmesan the next time and decide which cheese I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
we eat this in our house about once a week. i use the colored pasta and sometimes add a can of olives to it. but it's light, quick, and a hit even with the kids. i do use olive oil to mix everything together, it blends the flavors more (my own opinion) i also put in a pinch or two of crushed red peppers - just to give it a bit more kick... serve it with a green salad and maybe some sourdough bread and you are set!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla J Coulter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
For a basic recipe, I was surprised at how delicious this was. It seemed to be much lighter than the typical pasta dish since there is no heavy sauce, only the moisture from the tomatoes. I can see making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LADYM23
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Husband loved this, and it was so easy. A hearty pasta dish, without a lot of heavy sauce. I added yellow onion to mine and instead of fresh leaf basil, I used fresh squeeze basil you find in the produce area. I added the basil right at the end of cooking. I can see adding more veggies to to this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYM23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States