Beef and Bow Ties Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Hubby wasn't a fan of this but, I liked it. Substituted garlic powder for garlic cloves, 1 Tablespoon of dried basil leaves and 1-14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes + 2 Tablespoons water. Don't let liquid evaporate, this will be dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and it was delicious! I subbed the sausage for the ground beef, and there are only 6 ingredients, if you don't count salt and pepper, which I did not find necessary to use. The sausage has plenty of flavor, and the use of fresh ingredients gave this dish a lively, interesting taste. If you do make this, try to use fresh basil, because it complements the sausage. Every bite made me want more, so I was glad DH and DS beat me to the skillet for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I added crushed red pepper to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was very simple. A lot can be added to this to really spruce it up, however it was good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
No flavor, even after I added the things others suggested. Very dry!!! Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I was looking for something different to make with ground beef and stumbled across this recipe. Thought it looked good and easy so I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed! It was delicious! I did have to make a couple of substitutions for ingredients I didn't have on hand and made a couple of additions. I didn't have any parmesan cheese or fresh basil so I used fresh grated mozarella and dried italian seasoning. I also used mini farfalle since I'm a huge fan of mini pasta. My husband and I like a bit of heat so I also added some red pepper flakes. I will definitely be making this over and over as it is so easy and fast to put together. I will use fresh grated parmesan the next time and decide which cheese I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
we eat this in our house about once a week. i use the colored pasta and sometimes add a can of olives to it. but it's light, quick, and a hit even with the kids. i do use olive oil to mix everything together, it blends the flavors more (my own opinion) i also put in a pinch or two of crushed red peppers - just to give it a bit more kick... serve it with a green salad and maybe some sourdough bread and you are set!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla J Coulter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
For a basic recipe, I was surprised at how delicious this was. It seemed to be much lighter than the typical pasta dish since there is no heavy sauce, only the moisture from the tomatoes. I can see making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LADYM23
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Husband loved this, and it was so easy. A hearty pasta dish, without a lot of heavy sauce. I added yellow onion to mine and instead of fresh leaf basil, I used fresh squeeze basil you find in the produce area. I added the basil right at the end of cooking. I can see adding more veggies to to this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYM23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Still cannot believe there is no oil or sauce in this which is a good thing for the calorie conscious. One can taste the "fresh" and maybe some sliced mushrooms and onions would only add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States