Beef and Biscuit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This just wasn't for us. I do suppose it has a great title as it is simply beef and biscuit. I think it would be just as good and probably easier if you just used ground beef and a bottle of bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Well, unfortunately I didn't bake the biscuits first like some reviewers said- and voila- uncooked biscuits : ( Other than that- the meal would have been delicious- I did add chili beans- didn't have a onion so I used onion powder- Definitely will try again- cooking the biscuits for a bit first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very good recipe. I added a can of diced green chilies, and they provided a nice little "zing" to the dish. My girlfriend first made this for me, and she used ground turkey instead of beef. It was just as delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was decent. I didn't have any green chilis or sour cream, so I used a small 8 oz can of salsa verde for the spicy kick and I melted in some cream cheese in place of the sour cream. It turned out well. I also added a can of corn for a little something extra. I ended up not putting biscuits on the bottom, I can only imagine an undercooked soggy mess, so I prebaked them half way and then put them on top. It turned out to be quite a comforting meal and was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
this was a quick meal that my extremely picky three year old ate! i used salsa like someone else suggested and it came out a little too salty, i'll use a little tomato sauce next time and that egg didn't do anything that a little extra cheese couldn't. this is a good standby when you're low on time and pantry items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was really good. Even my 2-year old daughter liked it. I partially baked the biscuits before I put this in the oven, like a few other reviewers suggested, and I didn't have any problem with soggy biscuits. A good dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
WOW!!! I made this for my husband tonight and he ate 3 helpings and is now sitting on the couch rubbing his stomach :) I used about a tablespoon of taco seasoning, probably a bit more, I don't measure very often. I also added a can of corn and kidney beans. Definately bake the bottom layer of biscuits for a bit first or else they won't get done. My husband said this is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is one of my husbands favorites! I will use 1 lb. of extra lean beef and then add a can of kidney beans for protein and fiber without the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe, however, just by looking at the ingredients, it seems it would be bland. I added 3 times as much garlic salt and 2 times as much chili powder, and it turned out just great. I'm sure it would have been bland with the ingredients listed though, as some people say. It tasted alot like sloppy joes, however, the twist was the biscuits! Great idea there. Besides the spices, I used a jalapeño pepper instead of the Chile pepper, and kept everything else the same (well, besides the garlic salt & chili powder). I also cooked the bottom layer for 5 minutes beforehand, as some people warn. I give it four stars, great recipe. Oh btw, this feeds four people as a whole meal, not ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Wow I was really impressed with the outcome of this recipe. I cooked the beef mixture as directed but added some cumin, fresh garlic, and salsa. I omitted the eggs and had no problem with the mixture being to runny. Though I did have some problems wtih the crust. I precooked the biscuits as suggested but then it took so long for the top layer to cook that the bottom layer over cooked and became really hard. So to solve this problem I think next time I will layer the biscuits in a "pie crust" fashion and precook. Then layer the meat mixture and add the cheese layer at the end of cooking and garnish with some green onions and sour cream. This had a good flavor, and was a quick meal for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States