Beef and Biscuit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
The first time I made this, I looked at my husband and said, "You try it first." He in turn, like little Mikey, said, "I ain't trying it first, you try it." Since then, we have discovered we really like this for a change of pace, and it is great to take to a covered dish dinner. I double everything and bake it in a 9X13 glass baking dish, and instead of using the buttermilk biscuits, I use 2 cans of cresent rolls/ 1 can unrolled will fit the bottom perfectly, and the other for the top crust. Before filling with the meat mixture, I bake the bottom crust about 5 minutes first. I also added some cumin and ceyenne pepper just to jazz it up some, and often use a variety of cheese, whatever I have on hand at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
excellent!!! My husband loves this so much he's told me to never forget this recipe!!! I will make one change though, I will defninitely pre-cook the biscuits until they are ALMOST done, then I make the recipe. 2nd time I made this, the top layer of biscuits weren't quite done underneath (the middle ones), and I don't think I'll leave it to chance. This is a very versatile recipe. I added a layer of cottage cheese mixed with shredded cheddar and it was delicious!!! I highly recommend this recipe!!!! I also recommend making them with the "grands" rolls as they are so good and flaky!!! leftovers?? what leftovers???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I tweaked this a bit as well, I used cheddar and mozerella cheeses, adding 3/4 cup to the meat mixture. I also added 1 1/2 cans tomato sauce. The chili pepper and sour cream were wonderful. Instead of can biscuits, I made my own, split the dough in half, rolled out the first half pressed, it into the bottom of an 8 1/2x11" glass pan, then added the meat mixture, more moz. cheese over the meat, then rolled out the second half of dough, pressed it over, added the chedd. and moz mixture over the top, then drizzled the remaining of the second can of tomato sauce over the top. Baked for 25 min, and when it came out it looked like a magazine cover. It was awesome! The crust, top and bottom turned out perfect. The husband said it was so so good and is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I baked the crust before hand like other people suggested. I then filled and baked it, turned out great! Reminds me of a comfort food. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I made some changes to this recipe because of the reviewers suggestions. I added corn and a can of rotel tomatoes with chilies. I didnt have any sour cream so that was simply omitted. Even though I added tomatoes I also added the tomato sauce. I used Mexican cheese but only on the top. I forgot to put some in the beef mixture. (oops)And when I cooked the ground beef I added minced garlic instead of garlic salt. This was a good dinner that my husband liked more than I did. Next time I will try Grands biscuits since the ones I used were too small and just didn't give enough crust. I will make this again and probably do it the same way as I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I sprinkled garlic powder on the ground beef while browning it instead of adding garlic salt at the end. I also baked the bottom layer of biscuits for 7 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. This was a wonderful meal with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This was great. I also doubled the recipe and put it in a 9X13 pan instead and it worked out well. I also used the Pillsbury crescent rolls for the top and bottom. It was like eating chili in a biscuit! I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
We were surprised at how good this was. I think next time I will add more ingrdients for filling. It was a little on the bready side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was good!!!! Well, as written it may not be the leanest dish in the world, but I did make it at least a little healthier. I used ground turkey, whipped low fat cottage cheese in lieu of the sour cream and omitted the egg. I added a few more seasonings and used pepper jack cheese in the mixture but topped the biscuits with parm. For me, one can of tomato sauce wasn't enough and I could have used more biscuits, but I made do. We all really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!! I have made this twice so far with excellent results. I sprinkled my cheese on before adding the top layer of biscuits. I also jazzed it up with chopped green and red bell peppers. It is even better warmed up the next day! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States