Beef and Biscuit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is one of my husbands favorites! I will use 1 lb. of extra lean beef and then add a can of kidney beans for protein and fiber without the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe, however, just by looking at the ingredients, it seems it would be bland. I added 3 times as much garlic salt and 2 times as much chili powder, and it turned out just great. I'm sure it would have been bland with the ingredients listed though, as some people say. It tasted alot like sloppy joes, however, the twist was the biscuits! Great idea there. Besides the spices, I used a jalapeño pepper instead of the Chile pepper, and kept everything else the same (well, besides the garlic salt & chili powder). I also cooked the bottom layer for 5 minutes beforehand, as some people warn. I give it four stars, great recipe. Oh btw, this feeds four people as a whole meal, not ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Wow I was really impressed with the outcome of this recipe. I cooked the beef mixture as directed but added some cumin, fresh garlic, and salsa. I omitted the eggs and had no problem with the mixture being to runny. Though I did have some problems wtih the crust. I precooked the biscuits as suggested but then it took so long for the top layer to cook that the bottom layer over cooked and became really hard. So to solve this problem I think next time I will layer the biscuits in a "pie crust" fashion and precook. Then layer the meat mixture and add the cheese layer at the end of cooking and garnish with some green onions and sour cream. This had a good flavor, and was a quick meal for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Good, fattening comfort food. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Initially, I thought this was pretty good. It does not make good leftovers, however. I liked it more than the rest of the family. So, this will probably not be made again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was a big hit with DH! If he's happy, I'm happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Didn't like it. The store bought biscuit dough had a funny taste to it. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was great though I modified the recipe a bit based on what I had in my kitchen. Instead of using beef, I used ground venison. I browned it with onions, seasoned it with McCormick Hot Taco Seasoning, and threw in a couple homegrown serrano chilis. I will take others' advice and bake the bottom crust a bit first... otherwise the bottom crust gets pretty soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Ding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a big hit at my house, especially with the guys. The last time I made it, I switched up the sauce and made a BBQ sauce with ketchup, mustard, brown sugar and vinegar to taste. Then continued with recipe as written - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Not bad, hubby liked it more than I did. I did take other reviewers suggestions and cooked the bottom layer of biscuits a bit first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States