Beef and Beet Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Omg.....marry me please!! Chef John Love your recipes would relocate if you would cook for me...LOL On a serious note- Thank you for all of your wonderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Using this recipe it was the first time I made borscht. I sautéed the onions first in the pot. Then added all the cut up veggies ingredients, except the beets, to the pot to sauté. Then instead of cubing the beets, I grated them and added them to the pot. Then added the water, vinegar, salt, pepper and bay leave. Instead of the beef shank, I used fresh Mennonite farmers sausage diced into quarters, browned it in a frying pan and added it to the pot and simmered until all was tender. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
When I made this it was my first time making or trying borscht. It was absolutely incredible! I ate everything in my bowl and then went back for seconds, and even my husband enjoyed eating it (a MAJOR accomplishment!) And the leftovers are equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe. I love beets and this is a winner! I totally agree with Sundances review. Amen. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Change from orifinal recipe- total prep and cook time:45 minutes. I used to live in Ukraine and I ate borscht several times a week there. This recipe tastes very similar to how they eat it over there. Yummy! I changed the recipe slightly so it was ready after about 35 Minutes of simmering. I used regular old stew meat from the store, browned it along with the chopped onion for a few minutes, then let it rest for 5 minutes while I finished preparing the veggies. I made sure to chop my carrots into smaller pieces since I knew I wouldn't be cooking them for 4 hours. I cut the beets into cube like, solid chunks, and used a half a red cabbage. I then combined all ingredients, brought to a boil, reduced heat to simmering and 35 minutes later had the Yummiest soup ever. The Bay leaves and sour cream can't be skipped. I added 4 leaves. You are going to have to add a lot more salt than you think you may - the cabbage and beats really suck up the flavoring. I also used some Montreal Steak seasoning - that's powerful stuff and I used 2 tablespoons plus a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyson Kampenhout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this for Halloween one year and it was SOOO delicious! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I simply started with beef stock and cooked all the veggies together in the stock for 1/2 an hour. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Great and couldn't have been quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Highly recommended - the result was a hearty borscht, with great depth of flavor and beautiful balance! Followed the recipe to the tee, and served with toasted/buttered dill bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
A local Eastern Euro restaurant switched and became a wing joint. Weirded their borscht so much I looked for a recipe. Found this one and the very first time I tried it we couldn't get enough! Very easy the only time consuming but is simmering everything. I mixed the broth in a mixer with the beets and cabbage til slightly chunky. This is so good on a cold day and definitely add the sour cream! My husband is no fan of beets but he loves it. Comfort food full of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastal Blonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Used store bought beef broth and this was amazing. Vinegar at the end is a must! Highly recommended - and I'm Ukrainian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States