Beef and Bean Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
So here is what I did because I had to improvise... I browned the meat with the onion then added a jar of my neighbors home made jarred chunky salsa which had green peppers, hot peppers, banana peppers and tomatoes. Then added a can of fiesta corn. mixed in a packet of taco seasoning then vola! filling complete! spread the refried beans on tortilla as directed put my meat filling in and added some extra cheese slices I needed to use up, rolled them bad boys up, put them in the oven with heavy butter coating them. came out golden and crispy. topped with sour cream, avocado, and salsa. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtpgroove1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this for Sunday night dinner and it was so delicious...I changed out the 12 in tortillas for 8 in and it made 12 chimichangas..I have shared this recipe with 4 other people aready!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I loved it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These were SO good. SO SO good! I am so glad I made them! I used extra lean beef (94/6), fat free beans and reduced the corn by about half. I took some other reviewers advice and brushed a little bit of melted margarine on top, to allow it to get crunchy. I cooked for only about 25 min, which was plenty of time for the inside to get super hot and then turned on the broiler for about 3 min, this helped the top brown and crisp some. Served them with light sour cream, lettuce and tomatoes...absolutely amazing. Next time, I will probably omit the cheese, since it really doesn't add to the flavor but just adds fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
this is awesome.easy to make and the entire family enjoyed it so much i get to make it again as a regular meal on my days off. i used Pam spray before putting them in the oven and baking them and omitted the corn because of allergies,also substituted homemade beans rather than the canned cause of the sodium contents. rather tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I really loved smothering the things with cheese to the point where you can barely roll them and then I used some of the leftover re-fried beans to stick the tortilla together. Lastly I liberally sprinkled cheese over the top and the best part was, when they were done, none of it fell apart because it was all glues together because of the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
husband loved em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I thought these were pretty good and would give this a 4, and my husband loved it and said he would love to have it again! I used salsa because I didn't have taco sauce, and probably only used half of what was called for. We also had the lettuce and tomato but totally forgot to get it out when the chimis were finished cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Yum! I changed based on what I had; used chipotle taco seasoning instead of taco sauce/spices and used red pepper instead of green. I really liked the chipotle flavor, but would like to try the original recipe also. Nice change from the usual tacos or burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
AMAZING!!! We loved this recipe, I did make a change to it, instead of using the taco sauce I used salsa, to cut back on the sodium. I have had other chimmies before but never with refried beans in them, And it was a very good change...Thanks for a great recipe that is very easy to prepare and very easy to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef Enchilada Bake

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy beef enchilada casserole.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States