Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
We both loved this soup. It was hearty, very flavourful and very filling. I did make a few changes due to personal taste. I didn't add the potatoes or the cabbage but did add a package of sliced cremini mushrooms. I cut the barley back to 1/2 cup after reading the reviews and it was still very thick. I didn't add browning sauce, couldn't find any in our area so I added a cap full of Bovril. There was no fresh thyme to be found so after googling it I added 1tsp of dried. This is my new favourite soup from this site and I will be making it again and again. Thanks so much for sharing BarbCA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was a great recipe! I did make a couple of changes. First, I used mushrooms (baby bella) instead of potatoes, since I figured they would taste very good with the soup and since barley already provides enough starch. Secondly, I used raw sirloin. After sauteeing the vegetables, I added the cabbage and sauteed it with them. Then, I removed the vegetables from the pan and added just the meat. I browned the meat and added the mushrooms, then I deglazed the pan with the wine. After that, I added the vegetables back to the soup, and finally added the broth and the barley. This soup was amazingly good, and I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Used Napa instead of cabbage and it was very good. Threw in some cooked green beans as well because I had them! Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I used home made beef broth with this recipe and it was a masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue DiFrancesco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Excellent! Very tasty and hardy soup for a cold winter day. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great Soup, i followed the recipe to a T and served it at a party and most people liked it. Turned out to be a little salty, I used beef base instead of bullion or broth so i am not sure if that made the difference. I think next time i will try it with bullion instead, or low sodium broth. I also did not add the seasoning salt or the browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a great soup I had made similar before, this time I used leftover Corned Beef and the resulting water(diluted by 50% water) also I didnt add salt due to the stock that's why I cut with water. I didn't brown the corned beef as it would ruin the coned beef's texture, I just fork pulled it like pulled pork. I also added more barley. This was an excellent use of both leftover CB as well as a great way to use the fragrant stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Fantastic! Great way to use leftovers. Had a leftover pot roast with potatoes, carrots and onions. Cut all that up finely, added some extra fresh carrots, celery, garlic and onions as well as soy sauce. Omitted wine and cabbage as I didn't have any on hand. Simmered entire pot for about 30 minutes total. The house smelled wonderful! Soup thickened upon cooling as barley absorbed the liquids. Made a huge pot of thick comforting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Didn't have any potatoes but it was still good. i agree that the barley should be cut down - I used 2/3 cup and found it too thick. Also, I ended up adding water to thin out the soup. But ease of cooking, flavor - can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and loved it. Great way to use leftover beef pot roast. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States