Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good soup. I did not use the browning sauce. My family liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I put the barley in with the potatoes and meat and added a little seasoned salt and fresh ground pepper. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I halved the recipe & made it with leftover london broil. I ommited the celery (don't like it) & the browning sauce (don't have any). I bought quick cooking barley & added it during the last 15 mins of cooking ( you can find barley by the rice, I got mine at King Soopers). Make sure you take the bay leaf out at the end, the directions do not say to. It was good but lacking flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Absolutely yummy!! Followed directions exactly and it was a hit. It makes a lot, so I froze some. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have made this a few times for my family. My daughter loves all the veggies in it. I love to make a large pot on a Sunday, this way we have it for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Great recipe, excellent flavour. In my opinion it doesn't need the browning sauce. And there was no measurement for a seasoning sauce - didn't know what it was, so didn't use that either. I did substitute some of the broth with left over roast beef gravy for better flavour. Plus I just didn't want to waste anything. From that point I just put everything in the crockpot except for potatoes - it's quite hearty enough without them - and cooked on low for about 8 hours. Makes a ton of soup which suits me well as I try to have as many meals in the freezer as possible to suit my busy life. Just as a postscript - I think the importance of sautéing vegetables for any soup is sometimes under-rated. It's a step that imparts so much flavour, and really doesn't take that much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Love the cabbage and red wine in this recipe! I also added one can of petite diced tomatoes (undrained), and I doubled all of the veggies except potato (which I actually halved & used red potato). Used dried italian herb mix instead of thyme, increased broth by a few cups, and did not use browning sauce. Oops! Bought regular pearlized barley instead of quick-cooking... had to simmer extra half-hour, but it was excellent nonetheless! I used Xmas dinner's left-over prime rib for the beef, ooooh yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe is a very good base for someone making soup for the first time. I used leftover brisket and added the drippings, a handful of peppercorns, and whole garlic cloves. Perfect for those blustery nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I used left over crock pot roast beef and this was the best soup I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! Very flavorful. I cooked my roast in a slow cooker, then used the broth in the soup (and added more broth to it.) I loved the addition of the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States