Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great Soup, i followed the recipe to a T and served it at a party and most people liked it. Turned out to be a little salty, I used beef base instead of bullion or broth so i am not sure if that made the difference. I think next time i will try it with bullion instead, or low sodium broth. I also did not add the seasoning salt or the browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a great soup I had made similar before, this time I used leftover Corned Beef and the resulting water(diluted by 50% water) also I didnt add salt due to the stock that's why I cut with water. I didn't brown the corned beef as it would ruin the coned beef's texture, I just fork pulled it like pulled pork. I also added more barley. This was an excellent use of both leftover CB as well as a great way to use the fragrant stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Fantastic! Great way to use leftovers. Had a leftover pot roast with potatoes, carrots and onions. Cut all that up finely, added some extra fresh carrots, celery, garlic and onions as well as soy sauce. Omitted wine and cabbage as I didn't have any on hand. Simmered entire pot for about 30 minutes total. The house smelled wonderful! Soup thickened upon cooling as barley absorbed the liquids. Made a huge pot of thick comforting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Didn't have any potatoes but it was still good. i agree that the barley should be cut down - I used 2/3 cup and found it too thick. Also, I ended up adding water to thin out the soup. But ease of cooking, flavor - can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and loved it. Great way to use leftover beef pot roast. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Good but I would have like a little more spice or herbs. I used left over brisket which worked great. Loved all the vegies! Wish I had had the browning sauce but I didn't. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was a very nice simple soup. Made it up very quickly on a rainy day. It hit the spot. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent for leftover beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious, and I haven't even added the wine! It was hard to stop tasting the broth! I had some tough beef round leftover that seemed a shame to throw out. Sliced it thin and in small pieces and it worked out just fine. I thought I had barley after starting this creation but had to substitute lentils. I did not have any dried or fresh thyme. I used 64 oz of lower sodium beef broth, a few more chopped vegetables than stated, some left over canned diced tomatoes and I don't feel like I have to add too much more to enhance the flavor. I did not add the potatoes or browning sauce. Because I added more vegetables and 2 Cups less broth, the soup is a thicker vegetable soup. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
So delicious! The only change I made was by using lentils instead as I was out of barley. My hubby loved it! Next time I'll be sure to have the barley on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States