Beef and Barley Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Add some diced carrots, celery, diced tomatoes and you have a full mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was a great way to use leftover strip steak that i had grilled....very easy to make, i did not add the veggies just kept with onions and a little garlic and the family loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
It was really good n super easy to make n all natural too. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I found this recipe excellent, I added 2 cups of diced carrots,1 cup diced celery, 1 onion diced,one yellow pepper diced and about 4 cups of beef diced,2 liters of Campbells beef broth and added 2 cups of barley. as it thickended I added some water, I also added 1 teaspone of minced garlic along with fresh ground pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNCONDUCTOR41

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
I didn't have beef broth so I used water, 2 beef bouillon cubes and a packet of dry onion soup mix. I only used about a cup of barley because a whole bag seemed like way too much. I also added 3 cloves of finely minced garlic, 2 diced carrots and a 2 ribs celery diced. It came out great. As it thickened I just added more water and the soup was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I make this all the time. It's not quick, but it's easy. I boil some beef cubes for an hour, then dump in some water and beef base, a chopped onion, and a few cloves of garlic, and boil another hour, dump in a can of mixed veggies at the end, and it's so good. I also like to put a splash or two of Worcestershire in it for bite and twang. We love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My mom used to make this soup in the winter all the time. I love it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This recipe was so easy. I've made it many times since. We love it and its healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and simple. Take this basic recipe and add what you want or have on hand. Freezes great. I added thick-sliced carrots and onion soup mix (per two reviewers) as well as chunks of sweet potato and diced tomatoes (added the toms for the last half hour). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
good, added vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States