Beef and Barley Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
I didn't have beef broth so I used water, 2 beef bouillon cubes and a packet of dry onion soup mix. I only used about a cup of barley because a whole bag seemed like way too much. I also added 3 cloves of finely minced garlic, 2 diced carrots and a 2 ribs celery diced. It came out great. As it thickened I just added more water and the soup was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This recipe was so easy. I've made it many times since. We love it and its healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very easy. I followed the recommendation to use 1c barley and added vegies. We used left over sirlon we had done on the grill. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very simple and very tasty. Had some cooked striploin that I cut up small and added to this soup. Highly recommended whenever you have left-over cooked beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My husband gives it 5 stars, but I didn't find it as tasty so it averages to 4 stars. It's even better if you follow the suggestions below of adding the veggies and only ONE cup of barley. For those that like a healthier option, be sure to use natural/organic broth as most brands contain MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I found this recipe excellent, I added 2 cups of diced carrots,1 cup diced celery, 1 onion diced,one yellow pepper diced and about 4 cups of beef diced,2 liters of Campbells beef broth and added 2 cups of barley. as it thickended I added some water, I also added 1 teaspone of minced garlic along with fresh ground pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNCONDUCTOR41

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was a great way to use leftover strip steak that i had grilled....very easy to make, i did not add the veggies just kept with onions and a little garlic and the family loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Easy to make. Next time I will put more meat and less barley. Better the 2nd day, but needed more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good base, added some veggies, onion, carrots, but was still a little bland for my taste, decided to try a little trick I noticed at resturant and add a little soy sauce, OMG it went from a 3 stars to 5, just make sure to use low sodium broth. It gives a rich color and adds more body to the soup. Try it you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was a great base. I added carrots, celery, onion,2 cloves of garlic, a bay leaf, and a pack of onion soup mix. As it thickened it turned nice and creamy. I made it at night to let it sit overnight until we gobble it up today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States