Beef and Barley Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
It was really good n super easy to make n all natural too. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I make this all the time. It's not quick, but it's easy. I boil some beef cubes for an hour, then dump in some water and beef base, a chopped onion, and a few cloves of garlic, and boil another hour, dump in a can of mixed veggies at the end, and it's so good. I also like to put a splash or two of Worcestershire in it for bite and twang. We love it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My mom used to make this soup in the winter all the time. I love it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
good, added vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and simple. Take this basic recipe and add what you want or have on hand. Freezes great. I added thick-sliced carrots and onion soup mix (per two reviewers) as well as chunks of sweet potato and diced tomatoes (added the toms for the last half hour). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Add some diced carrots, celery, diced tomatoes and you have a full mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very boring but did the job of a healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was a great base. I added carrots, celery, onion,2 cloves of garlic, a bay leaf, and a pack of onion soup mix. As it thickened it turned nice and creamy. I made it at night to let it sit overnight until we gobble it up today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good base, added some veggies, onion, carrots, but was still a little bland for my taste, decided to try a little trick I noticed at resturant and add a little soy sauce, OMG it went from a 3 stars to 5, just make sure to use low sodium broth. It gives a rich color and adds more body to the soup. Try it you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Easy to make. Next time I will put more meat and less barley. Better the 2nd day, but needed more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States