Beef and Barley Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
could use more information on the "spice bag"what spices are in the spice bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I agree that the bouquet garini spice ball reference was vague. So I googled it and there is a website called Sara's Secrets that gives great ideas for what spices to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a tasty and filling. I changed it by using the beef cubes for stew instead of dealing with the bones. That one change saved me a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Could be a good slow-cooker version, but I think the soup bones need the traditional browning and slow-roasting to really extract all the flavor and make this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Next time, I will just use beef broth from a can and put the barley in it. This recipe, I think, was unnecessarily time consuming. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
One of the best soups that I have made. I omitted the garlic, but it was still good with the other seasonings. Also, I added more beef to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I REALLY like this soup. It's a perfect meal for a busy, chilly day. I made some alterations, not because I thought it needed it, just because I didn't have everything on hand. Instead of making a bouquet garni, I just added 1t of thyme and 2 bay leaves along with the parsley. I didn't have any barley on hand, so I simply added 1/2 c. of quinoa. SUPER good. Next time I won't add as much salt. Thank you for sharing this easy recipe! Even my kids lapped it up! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
Though this recipe doesn't take much in the way of preparation, it does not make for a quick fix. The slow cooker method took way too long. It ended up taking me two days with my busy schedule to make this recipe. Then after the long wait, I didn't find it all that appetizing. I do not reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Easy to make and tasty! It's always nice to come home from work with dinner all ready in the crock pot. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This recipe works well when wild game is used and likely will produce a lower fat more flavorful product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States