Beef and Barley Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Based on other users suggestions, I added 1 cup more of carrots, upped the soy sauce and molasses to 3 T each, and used beef broth instead of water. At first I thought it was too sweet, but then it grew on me. This recipe has great potential, it just needs a little tweaking. Upping the carrots was a good call. Next time I'd go back to 2 T molasses and maybe use worcestire instead of soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Good basic recipe. Definitely one you want to change up! I used 1 full cup of barley, 1 (14 oz) can of chicken stock, and seasoned my meat while cooking it. I also added some chopped cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add a lot more veggies! Chard or kale would be great and I would definitely up the carrots to at least 2 c. (maybe even a full pound) to make it a more complete one pot meal. Serves more than just 4. I also suggest cooking everything in a dutch oven on the stove top so you can just slide it into the oven without dirtying another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Really, really good! I added 3 stalks of celery, sliced, some garlic salt and upped the Soy Sauce and Molasses to 3 TBSP each. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Well we liked it. I season ALL my meat while I am cooking it. So I had added salt and pepper to the beef while I browned it. WE love garlic so I added minced garlic to it as well. BUT I added two strips of crisp bacon that we broke up into small pieces. (left overs in fridge we didn't want to go to waste or have kids fight over. Left a small batch plain for youngest and both tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ellis-Mickel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roadrunner
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I modified the recipe a bit to suit my family's tastes, but highly approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tried this recipe this evening, was good. One other poster mentioned it was a bit bland and I have to agree. Going to try it again tho, and add some tomato chunks, turnip, and bump up the amount of soy sauce and molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Love this recipe with a few modifications. I added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of chopped fresh garlic and some chopped mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a recipe with potential. For my batch I used chunks of beef rather than ground beef; I added a celery stalk cut in small pieces; some rosemary, marjoram and thyme; about 1/4 cup of cooking wine and a bay leave. It turned out to be a very fragrant dish and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKABISOGNO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this recipe was bland and tasteless, unattractive looking and has been removed from my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States