Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good base recipe adjustable to preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Made these for hubby's B-day, they were so good I'm not waiting 'til next year to have them again. Also pretty fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
1 sheet of puff pastry is not enough first of all. And way too much cream. It also never thickened ever, why? no flour or cornstarch. Once I started spooning the cream mixture over the beef forget it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a huge hit for Christmas Dinner - with my family and guests. Only issues were I was not certain what consistency the sauce should be and the dogh got a little messy, but for this I blame myself not the receipe. In the end it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've made Beef Wellington before, so I tried this one with alot of caution. 2.5 cups of cream is much too much. The pastry took too long to cook at that temp. Recommend, upping the temp to about 425 and only cooking pastry for about 20 mins. You definately need a meat thermometer with this recipe, unless you like messing up beef at $16 per lb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I didn't like the cream sauce and the puff pastry got soggy. So to remedy it, I cooked the pastry shells and meat separately. I put the cooked meat into the cooked shell and layered it with goat cheese (boursin works well too) and popped it back in the oven for 5 minutes so the cheese would warm up. My husband and I like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Change the beef to chicken and add ham and it is really good. Like cordon blue in puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I made this one with 2 cups of cream instead of 1 1/2 and I even threw in some fresh mushrooms. My daughter even ate it! The cooking time should be lessened if you want a steak that is more pink in the center though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
It's a great recipe that is fairly easy to follow. The only thing that can be tricky, is folding the filo dough. Mine didn't look "pretty," but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it next time. In the end they still looked impressive and did taste great. If you have the time, I say give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
If you line the bottom of the pastry with bread (brown is best) it stops the pastry from being as soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States