Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a huge hit for Christmas Dinner - with my family and guests. Only issues were I was not certain what consistency the sauce should be and the dogh got a little messy, but for this I blame myself not the receipe. In the end it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
With some changes, this turned out great! I cut back a little on the cream, cut the meat up and browned it in a pan, and threw the meat and sauce into a slow cooker for 4 hours or so until the meat was tender. Then I just placed the mixture on top of some store bought flaky biscuits. Tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I made this one with 2 cups of cream instead of 1 1/2 and I even threw in some fresh mushrooms. My daughter even ate it! The cooking time should be lessened if you want a steak that is more pink in the center though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
It's a great recipe that is fairly easy to follow. The only thing that can be tricky, is folding the filo dough. Mine didn't look "pretty," but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it next time. In the end they still looked impressive and did taste great. If you have the time, I say give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Change the beef to chicken and add ham and it is really good. Like cordon blue in puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Made these for hubby's B-day, they were so good I'm not waiting 'til next year to have them again. Also pretty fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This recipe gets three stars because I didn't follow the direction so I'll take part of the blame. Because of the previous review (thank you very much) I didn't use expensive tenderloin instead I use high quality sirloin. 2 1/2 cups of cream????I reduced that to 2/3 cup and still had a lot left over. Dividing the pastry in 3 8x8 inch squares made it really easy to tear and when you add the liquid and the hot meat that is what happened. The juice in the bottom of the pan resulted in a soggy bottom crust that wasn't very appealing. At 30 minutes the pastry was pale at 40 minutes the pastry was nice and brown but the meat was over cooked. The flavor was alright but I wish I'd broiled the steak and used that pastry to make dessert. I probably will not make this again and I'm really glad I didn't buy tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good base recipe adjustable to preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I made this recipes after receiving it on my daily recipe email, it sounded too good to pass up. I am not sure what 2 1/2 cups of heavy cream was for, when I used less than 1 c. Also, tenderloin is to pricey to ever serve medium well. I pulled from the over after 30mns and it was already medium well, so if you make this recipe, make sure to check the temp. after 20mns. This recipe is a good concept, I will make many modifications next time I try it. (Can you tell I'm still upset after over-cooking the tenderloin?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe looked good and relatively easy to try for a beginner like myself. Apparently the recipe calls for way too much cream. Also, the filet heats up the dough so much that the dough breaks. The cooking time is way too long for such a nice cut of meat. It ended up too dry, and that was when I had already decreased the time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States