Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was my first Beef Wellington. I made exactly to recipe except the following: 1 1/2lbs. beef tenderloin, chopped onion & mushrooms, substituted sausage for liver pate - gave a nice flavor & couldn't find pate. Next time I will set the individual filets further apart so I can serve each separate and place the Wellington on a bakers rack to prevent the pastry on the bottom from getting soggy with the juices. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
One of my husband and I's favorite things to eat! I didnt have pate, and I topped the steaks with a red wine/ mushroom/ onion/ blue cheese combo. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was a simple to make and very yummy dish! Perfect for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FractalsKitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This dish was so flavorful and to die for! However, I tweaked it quite a bit for my own liking: 1. Instead of liver pate, I used a chicken/beef pate in a can and mixed worshershire sauce in it. 2. For my mushroom mixture, I minced the mushrooms, garlic, parsley and a splash of sherry. 3. Instead of puff pastry, I used 4 large sheets of philo dough and glazed with butter. 4. For the sauce, I added butter and zip sauce into the wine & broth. Tips: Pre-heat pan in oven before placing wellington inside - did not get soggy on bottom at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My fiance while watching Chef Ramsey's Hell's Kitchen has had a craving for Beef Wellington, we even found a cute Scotish Restaurant that we thought served it but it ended up just being a pot pie. Well this receipt was fantastic!!!! changed up the liver pate for proiscutto as some have done. Seared the meat for at least 5 minutes on both sides and OMG it was worth every cent i spent to make it...this is definiately one of my favorite receipts that i ever made..TY so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely devine! The only "mess up" was on the puff pastry. My husband picked up the puff shells, so as you can imagine I had a time trying to get the meat wrapped. My store did not have regular liver pate so I used Mushroom/liver pate instead. And a bit of advise, if ones are looking for more of a cordon bleu recipe I'm sure there are plenty on this site. This is an ellagant recipe and it is what it states, Beef Wellington ;) Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Will definalty make again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I tried this with the peso recipe given above. Turned out fantastic! Its now a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Well it came out looking exactly like the picture. But frankly it didnt come up to expectations. I was expecting something cordon blue- an exquisite belnd of choicest ingredients to make a sonata of the senses. Instead I got a very middling bit of roast. Something that I would have expected to find in a Fanny Cradock Recipe Book. Thank goodness things have moved on a bit from then. I 'll stick to slow roasting with rosemary garlic and honey glaze. Sorry really wanted this to be special- very much the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Once again a total winner - have variations which I will send to you when I have time - am 67 so lots of experience - yours was great. To the ladies who complain - surely you should all know 'rare' cooking time = my oven i dial up and ask for rare fillet - it gives it 7 mins and voila = eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States