Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe (or this slightly tweaked) for more than a decade, typically on Christmas. Delicious. A lot depends on the quality of the beef. I find that the hardest part of this is getting the pastry to work. Here's my tip: have plenty of puff pastry. Roll it out and place the bottom part in the baking dish, which has been buttered. Spread pate on pastry, cover it with mushroom and onion mix, then place meat on top. Cover top and sides of meat with pate, then mushroom and onions. Finally, place a separate piece of pastry on top, and connect by crimping the sides. Much easier than trying to cover the whole thing with one piece then transferring to baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Reynolds
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made this into individual Wellingtons, and used a mushroom/walnut/pecan pate. Added fresh ground horseradish root to the sauce above and everything came out grand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Lots of work and it turned out okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef_Mama_Star
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Amazing recipe!!! I recomend it to anybody who wants a easy, fancy and delicate dinner. I didn't use all the puff pastry so I cut out some flowers and leafs to hide the lines. The picture I put on here is before baking (I forgot to take a picture after we ate it very quickly lol) but it turned out to be beutifully gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Mama_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Was my first time making it and it was pretty easy. My husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great, but I followed others advice. I used onion, garlic and mushrooms around the beef, instead of the pate mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Tried this (with a bit of cheese sauce added), but just resulted in a big mess. At least the meat could be retrieved afterwards and was edible. How do you prevent the pastry just falling apart? Is there some kind of 'adhesive' you can use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
For all those who said the bread gets soggy from the juicesthe trick is to season and sear the meat first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I prepared this the night before, following directions carefully and baked it on a rack to avoid soggy bottom layer. Overnight, I left it in fridge, on an oven ready serving dish, lightly covered in aluminum foil. The next day, I removed it from fridge for about 30 minutes and then put it in oven, at 300 degrees for 15 minutes, covered in foil, to avoid overcooking crust. It was delicious! next time i would let it sit at room temperature closer to 45 minutes and then put in oven. Spray the rack so it is easy to pry off the puffed shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a stellar recipe, which a friend and I made for a reunion of a dinner club (we hadn't met for over 30 years!). The recipe is relatively easy to prepare if you watch the video a few times, read the allrecipe reviewers comments, and start with a quality tenderloin. We used a meat thermometer, cooked the Wellington on a rack in a pan, and did use the pate. The flavour was exceptional - the slices weren't the easiest to cut so I might let it stand a tad longer the next time, or make individual servings as others have suggested. From another site, a suggestion was made to put the uncooked but prepared Wellington in the fridge for a few hours, which we did - so the times given (needless to say) were off, but that's another reason why the meat thermometer was so helpful. A great recipe for a reunion dinner club - all the people in attendance raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States