Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Was my first time making it and it was pretty easy. My husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great, but I followed others advice. I used onion, garlic and mushrooms around the beef, instead of the pate mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Tried this (with a bit of cheese sauce added), but just resulted in a big mess. At least the meat could be retrieved afterwards and was edible. How do you prevent the pastry just falling apart? Is there some kind of 'adhesive' you can use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
For all those who said the bread gets soggy from the juicesthe trick is to season and sear the meat first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I prepared this the night before, following directions carefully and baked it on a rack to avoid soggy bottom layer. Overnight, I left it in fridge, on an oven ready serving dish, lightly covered in aluminum foil. The next day, I removed it from fridge for about 30 minutes and then put it in oven, at 300 degrees for 15 minutes, covered in foil, to avoid overcooking crust. It was delicious! next time i would let it sit at room temperature closer to 45 minutes and then put in oven. Spray the rack so it is easy to pry off the puffed shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a stellar recipe, which a friend and I made for a reunion of a dinner club (we hadn't met for over 30 years!). The recipe is relatively easy to prepare if you watch the video a few times, read the allrecipe reviewers comments, and start with a quality tenderloin. We used a meat thermometer, cooked the Wellington on a rack in a pan, and did use the pate. The flavour was exceptional - the slices weren't the easiest to cut so I might let it stand a tad longer the next time, or make individual servings as others have suggested. From another site, a suggestion was made to put the uncooked but prepared Wellington in the fridge for a few hours, which we did - so the times given (needless to say) were off, but that's another reason why the meat thermometer was so helpful. A great recipe for a reunion dinner club - all the people in attendance raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I enjoyed it, but it wasn't quite good enough to persuade my husband that tenderloin can be baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
If you aren't a pâté fan, you can substitute with humus. Also, I've used a mixture of cooked carrots, onions, and garlic that I'd strained and mashed instead of pâté.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Prepared this for my husbands 49th Birthday dinner. Needed a little more cooking time due to the fact that the cut of meat was so thick but WOW! Rave reviews by all of our guests, even young children. I will definitely be adding this one to my recipes often used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious! Made for Christmas dinner. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States