Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Magan and Amanda
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Loved it. If you haven't tried the pate don't knock it till you try it, its awesome. the only thing I would do different than what the recipe calls for is add salt to the meat before cooking initially. The au jus is phenomenal. This time we purchased the fillets that are already wrapped in bacon and it was the perfect accent for the dish. We never made beef wellington before but it was so worth it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magan and Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Followed the instructions but used individual boned venison loins, seared them off in a very hot fry pan. After chilling, wrapped and roasted to medium rare on using a meat thermometer. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Wow! I made this as a special occasion dinner, and it came out fantastic! I took the advice of several other reviewers and used individual filet mignons. I also baked it on a wire rack to keep the bottom from getting soggy. It was rich and delicious, and not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
super easy and outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drsmileyt
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Husband's fav bday dinner. He doesn't like mushrooms so the earthiness and richness of the pâté completely replaces and even adds a dimension and level to the palate of the dish. Looking forward to trying the individual filets other have suggested here. I like to pair it with a purée of mashed potatoes, roasted cauliflower and parsnips and a green veggie. Enjoy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a very easy recipe to make, and it was delicious. My family thought I was a Rock Star for making it! I took the advice of the previous reviewers roasted the pastry-wrapped tenderloin on a rack. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I have made Beef Welington many times before so I am familiar with the process and what the outcome should be. The timing and temperature in this recipe is perfect. I made it twice in a week, once with a 2 1/2 lb tenderloin and the second time with a 6 lb tenderloin. It was perfect each time. The first browning in the oven is key. Resist the temptation to keep the beef in longer than 10 minutes for the small roast. Cooling between each step is essential as well. The assembly is quick and the final roasting is 25 minutes regardless of how big the roast is. (because the thickness is the same) Once the pastry is uniformly brown, take it out and let it sit for at least ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We followed this recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe (or this slightly tweaked) for more than a decade, typically on Christmas. Delicious. A lot depends on the quality of the beef. I find that the hardest part of this is getting the pastry to work. Here's my tip: have plenty of puff pastry. Roll it out and place the bottom part in the baking dish, which has been buttered. Spread pate on pastry, cover it with mushroom and onion mix, then place meat on top. Cover top and sides of meat with pate, then mushroom and onions. Finally, place a separate piece of pastry on top, and connect by crimping the sides. Much easier than trying to cover the whole thing with one piece then transferring to baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Reynolds
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made this into individual Wellingtons, and used a mushroom/walnut/pecan pate. Added fresh ground horseradish root to the sauce above and everything came out grand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States