Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
A very nice recipe. Although it isn't a "quick meal", it is relatively easy to prepare. I left out the pate and added extra onions and mushroom, along with alittle more wine to taste. Terrific touch Marla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
This was one of the very best dinners I had ever had. My boyfriend and roommate loved it. Even the leftovers had no chance of survival. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Great Recipe! I have searched for this recipe, and have used it several times, it is truly the only way to have beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Oh Marla - yum! I made this tonight for Christmas dinner and what a hit! It was actually very easy to prepare, and less time consuming than a turkey for example. The wine/au jus was delicious as well. I did leave out the pate per everyone's request and used blackberry merlot in place of red wine - very good! I would defintely make this again - although not often due to the high calories and fat!! But well worth it for a special dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Marla - I tried your recipe for Christmas Dinner - My first attempt at Beef Wellington! My brother-in-law is from England and he raved! He said he felt like he was back home, only better cooking! Thanks for a relatively simple, yet elegant, recipe! I'm forwarding it to my Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
High points for elegance and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
01/01/01: What a way to ring in the REAL New Millennium! Even though we made it without the liver pate', it was dynamite! Neither my husband nor I had ever had this dish before so it was quite an experience. The directions were quite good, except we had never worked with phyllo dough before and weren't quite sure how to handle it. As I was buttering each ultra thin sheet I thought, "I'm not sure I'd go through all this again." The first bite quickly erased that thought from my mind. We rate new recipes on a scale of 1-10 (10 being THE best). A recipe rated 8 and under gets tossed. THIS IS A DEFINITE "KEEPER!" Thank you so much, Marla!!! Keep those yummy recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I wanted the "perfect" dinner party for my friends that were moving. The reviews were fantastic; it went nicely with garlic mashed potatoes and a nice winter salad of greens and mandrin oranges and fresh green beans almondine. I had wanted to make this for years and found your recipe easy to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
2/14/00 Marla, I made this for valentines' day for my husband, and cut out little heart shapes of puff pastry, to add to the pastry top of the wellington. I tell you, this tastes great! and looked pretty nice also! I especially loved the wine au jus. Fabulous! pretty easy to assemble. I used fillet mignon instead of the tenderloin, (a little more costly) but I cut each fillet in half, and it turned out great. My hats off to you marla!!! thanks again and Keep the recipes a comin!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
This is a 'wonderful' recipe! We served this for Sunday dinner one evening, and it was a definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States