Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This turned out delicious and tender! My suggestions. Use filets of tenderloin and wrap individually. Sear filets on med high heat beforehand and it comes out perfectly. (Trust me, I'm a meat perfectionist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The first picture of the Beef Wellington showed the meat blood red, not slightly pink. Not very appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was such an easy recipe and was delicious! I seared the individual filets for two minutes on each side and baked them for 20 mins on 400. They came out to a perfect medium! I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this Christmas day and it was delicious! The only adjustment I made was less onion and more mushrooms. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe; you can omit the pate and make your own spread with mushrooms, etc. I have done a similar recipe using a boneless pork loin (made individual servings) and encased in filo dough. Will dig out the recipe and post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Oh my, was this an attractive & delicious Christmas meal centerpiece! What we did different: We used a 3-1/2# tenderloin (fed 8 people) which we halved & rubbed with salt/pepper/garlic powder the night before, then quick seared in a hot skillet; added 2 small cloves of garlic to the mushroom/onion mixture, & once it cooled chopped it all very finely to almost make a duxelles (since we did NOT want to use liver pate). We layed prosciutto on the pastry, spread the mushroom mixture over, then placed the beef on top...placed it on a preheated sheet & baked as directed to 130 degrees then allowed it to rest 15 minutes (while we heated up the side dishes). It was perfectly med/rare! I believe cooking it on a rack wouldn't allow the bottom crust to crisp up as much, all I know was that this was not as hard as I thought it would be so DON'T BE INTIMIDATED, so much more delicious than I dreamed it would be & is sure to be my new Christmas dinner tradition - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is a good recipe and a variation of the French Filet en Croute which I learned from my grandmother while growing up in Normandy. The beef was always the chateaubriand, the choicest cut of the Filet Mignon and was first seared in Black Butter and soaked in Calvados (Brandy) which was allowed to evaporate before being wrapped in raw ham which was covered in a paste of morrelle mushroom, dijon mustard and goose liver before being wrapped en crote and glazed with beaten egg yolk and score and decorated before being baked in a preheated 400F, 200C or Gas Mark 6 oven for 40 minutes. Done properly the juices will remain within the package and the croute will be crisp on the outside and creamy in the inside. A medium body Burgandy is suffice to accompany. The English Beef Wellington is still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
What a woderful meal this makes! You have a delicious cut of beef, mushrooms and onions to enhance the flavor and then the pastry closes off the beef to the air keeping all those aromas, flavors and juices inside! I did find out that by adding a bit of roasted garlic and a bit more onion really adds to the already delicious flavor. And the pastry, with the juices it soaks up from the slicing, is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was excellent!! I made this for our Christmas dinner and, per several different reviews, made only a few slight changes. First, I did individual filets for the purpose of portion control. I salt and peppered and seared them for several minutes. I sautéed the mushrooms and onions in butter but added the red wine to let it reduce with the veggies. I also added worcester because it's just so yummy. I assembled, baked and oh my goodness, we had a fabulous dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States