Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wow! This was amazing. Made it with the "Pesto Sauce" rub on the outside like the "most helpful" reviewer said. Holy Cow! I had never made this before, but it came out great. Did 12 minutes for the first cycle, then 12 minutes at 450, and 13 minutes at 425. It came out about "medium" which was perfect for my wife and I. Really, really yummy. This was my first beef wellington. Thank you for showing me a way to do it! Note: with all of the butter usd mine smoked up the oven a bit, and subsequently the house. Not sure how to avoid the smoke with the high temps in the oven. Maybe I can find some info on that somewhere here. It still tasted awesome though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used this recipe on pork tenderloin and it was fabulous! I didn't use the sauce, but my husband and I honestly didn't need it. This recipe was absolutely wonderful. Other than the sauce I followed the recipe in it's entirety. I was worried about how the patte would taste, but it was excellent. I would use a rack within a pan next time to keep the bottom from getting soggy, I just didn't have one at the time. Even with a soggy bottom though, this recipe was a hit! I can't wait to try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcrawford13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great! Made individual ones using 3 oz filets (omitting the pate), and they turned out flaky and delicious. Wonderful with a comforting side like mash potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Pate was tasty addition to this recipe....Next time I'm gonna stuff the filet with a seafood mix of lobster tail crab meat (not the imitation stuff) and top it off with some Brie or Gruyere cheese. Then wrap with puff pastry. I'll post when I complete this dish. Will be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this exactly as described (except I only had a 2 pound tenderloin) and the beef was RAW at the end of the cook time. I couldn't bake it anymore because the puff pastry was already quite dark. I had to take out the beef to heat in the microwave for a bit to make it more comfortable to eat. The taste of the dish was fine, but the cooking time was not correct. Also...it was a pain to cut and I have sharp knives. I'm sure this was the grain of the meat, but it didn't look so nice for my guests while I was trying to cut through raw meat that wouldn't actually cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The Filet ended up being a bit well done, and the pastry a bit underdone... But I prefer my steaks cooked more so I enjoyed it, the flavor on the mushroom topping was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe. Done a couple of times and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polibio r. Diaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I found that the precooking of the tenderloin wasn't long enough, it was extremely rare and we had to put it back in the oven. Other than that it was easy to do and FANTASTIC when all was said and done, impressed the out of my inlaws :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This turned out delicious and tender! My suggestions. Use filets of tenderloin and wrap individually. Sear filets on med high heat beforehand and it comes out perfectly. (Trust me, I'm a meat perfectionist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The first picture of the Beef Wellington showed the meat blood red, not slightly pink. Not very appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States