Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
If you aren't a pâté fan, you can substitute with humus. Also, I've used a mixture of cooked carrots, onions, and garlic that I'd strained and mashed instead of pâté.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Prepared this for my husbands 49th Birthday dinner. Needed a little more cooking time due to the fact that the cut of meat was so thick but WOW! Rave reviews by all of our guests, even young children. I will definitely be adding this one to my recipes often used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious! Made for Christmas dinner. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wonderful, followed exactly. Big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
OMG, yum! I consider myself a decent cook, but have never made Wellington until last night for Valentines day. This recipe is amazing and incredibly easy! (I officially don't get what all of the intimidation is about). It was juicy and absolutely bursting with flavor! If you think this is bland, you must have left out some of the ingredients. I took the advice of others below and used two individual fillets (about 6-8 oz each). I then followed the steps above (pate is a must), but before wrapping in the pastry, I wrapped in prosciutto. I also added pastry hearts on top of each wellington for a special (corny) touch. I cooked on a rack and placed a sheet of vegetables below to cook at the same time (asparagus, red pepper, cubed red potato, and carrots). Finally: YOU MUST USE A MEAT THERMOMETER! Check EACH fillet throughout cooking because they may need different timing depending on thickness and position in the oven (mine did). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A very nice recipe, as far as the beef is concerned I would really brown it in a skillet before placing in in the oven. I did omit the softened butter and used a softened herb liver sausage mixed with finely chopped shallots and crimini mushrooms. I took this mixture and spread it thinly on the pastry and left a edge that I moistened with egg wash. I put a very light coat of Dijon mustard on the cooled beef prior to wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner followed exactly as written and it came out wonderful. Make sure your puff pastry isn't too thick where you pinch it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I just made this for Christmas Eve dinner and followed recipe exactly including timing and it turned out perfect. I agree that baking on a rack might be a good idea. Next I am going to try this using individual filets. It's really an easy great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
definatey try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Recipe was very straightforward and easy to follow. I had been afraid to try making this, as I see people fail on this recipe on TV all the time. My Beef Wellington turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States