Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wonderful, followed exactly. Big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
OMG, yum! I consider myself a decent cook, but have never made Wellington until last night for Valentines day. This recipe is amazing and incredibly easy! (I officially don't get what all of the intimidation is about). It was juicy and absolutely bursting with flavor! If you think this is bland, you must have left out some of the ingredients. I took the advice of others below and used two individual fillets (about 6-8 oz each). I then followed the steps above (pate is a must), but before wrapping in the pastry, I wrapped in prosciutto. I also added pastry hearts on top of each wellington for a special (corny) touch. I cooked on a rack and placed a sheet of vegetables below to cook at the same time (asparagus, red pepper, cubed red potato, and carrots). Finally: YOU MUST USE A MEAT THERMOMETER! Check EACH fillet throughout cooking because they may need different timing depending on thickness and position in the oven (mine did). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A very nice recipe, as far as the beef is concerned I would really brown it in a skillet before placing in in the oven. I did omit the softened butter and used a softened herb liver sausage mixed with finely chopped shallots and crimini mushrooms. I took this mixture and spread it thinly on the pastry and left a edge that I moistened with egg wash. I put a very light coat of Dijon mustard on the cooled beef prior to wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner followed exactly as written and it came out wonderful. Make sure your puff pastry isn't too thick where you pinch it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I just made this for Christmas Eve dinner and followed recipe exactly including timing and it turned out perfect. I agree that baking on a rack might be a good idea. Next I am going to try this using individual filets. It's really an easy great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
definatey try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Recipe was very straightforward and easy to follow. I had been afraid to try making this, as I see people fail on this recipe on TV all the time. My Beef Wellington turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starlit123
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I agree that the cooking time is off for this recipe. I had a 1 lb tenderloin that I seared first then cooked in the oven at 425 for 15 mins and it came out a perfect medium rare. Thank goodness I read the other reviews! To keep the pastry from getting soggy I drained the mushrooms and onions really well by putting it in a strainer and pressed down on it with a spatula to get rid of all the liquid. I then used the leftover liquid for the sauce which was divine! I saw a video that had Gordon Ramsey cooking beef wellington and he mentioned mushrooms hold a lot of water so instead of cooking off the liquid I just drained it. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlit123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Although I do not eat beef, I prepared this dish for Sunday night family dinner, we always have extended family over on Sundays. Everyone loved it...even said it was the best dish I had ever served,and I pride myself and never skimp on my cooking. Prepared as noted except the pate...didn't have it, but it didn't seem to make a difference with the like factor. My hubs wants to try it next time with the pate to compare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My husband made that recipe for our guest. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States